A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Excel » New Users
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Adding on excel



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 3rd, 2006, 09:45 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel,microsoft.public.excel.newusers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Adding on excel


Excel 2000

Hiya, I have a question for all you brainboxes out there!
Im VERY new to excel so please explain clearly or I'll be completley lost!!

In the cell A3 I would like to have a "Grand Total".
In the cell A2, I would like to enter a number, eg. 400 (this would then
appear in A3 as 400), THEN I would like to enter another number, eg. 307 in
cell A2. (this wouuld then appear in A3 as 707).

I hope that explains it, I find it a bit confusing.
Thanks for any help you can offer
--
@---}--
Laura.....
Liverpool, England


  #2  
Old January 3rd, 2006, 10:19 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel,microsoft.public.excel.newusers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Adding on excel

you would need for example

A1 307
A2 400
A3 total 707

If you put the total in say A10 then every `number` from A1 to A9 would be
in the total



"Laura ( '_' )" wrote in message
...

Excel 2000

Hiya, I have a question for all you brainboxes out there!
Im VERY new to excel so please explain clearly or I'll be completley

lost!!

In the cell A3 I would like to have a "Grand Total".
In the cell A2, I would like to enter a number, eg. 400 (this would then
appear in A3 as 400), THEN I would like to enter another number, eg. 307

in
cell A2. (this wouuld then appear in A3 as 707).

I hope that explains it, I find it a bit confusing.
Thanks for any help you can offer
--
@---}--
Laura.....
Liverpool, England




  #3  
Old January 3rd, 2006, 10:20 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel,microsoft.public.excel.newusers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Adding on excel

Perhaps better to simply use an adjacent top cell
to total up successive inputs down col A ?

Put in say, B1: =SUM(A:A)
B1 will return the total of the numbers entered down col A

If you really want to accumulate by inputting repeatedly into A2,
try JE McGimpsey's page at:
http://www.mcgimpsey.com/excel/accumulator.html

Look for:
- Single cell accumulator
- Worksheet Function Accumulator (using Circular References)
--
Rgds
Max
xl 97
---
Singapore, GMT+8
xdemechanik
http://savefile.com/projects/236895
--
"Laura ( '_' )" wrote in message
...

Excel 2000

Hiya, I have a question for all you brainboxes out there!
Im VERY new to excel so please explain clearly or I'll be completley

lost!!

In the cell A3 I would like to have a "Grand Total".
In the cell A2, I would like to enter a number, eg. 400 (this would then
appear in A3 as 400), THEN I would like to enter another number, eg. 307

in
cell A2. (this wouuld then appear in A3 as 707).

I hope that explains it, I find it a bit confusing.
Thanks for any help you can offer
--
@---}--
Laura.....
Liverpool, England




  #4  
Old January 3rd, 2006, 10:25 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel.newusers,microsoft.public.excel
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Adding on excel

Hi Laura,

It can be done but only with a Change event macro! Do you really want this
instead of a simpler method: entering your numbers in A2, A3, etc. and click
on Autosum in the next cell when you finished?

Regards,
Stefi

„Laura ( '_' )” ezt *rta:


Excel 2000

Hiya, I have a question for all you brainboxes out there!
Im VERY new to excel so please explain clearly or I'll be completley lost!!

In the cell A3 I would like to have a "Grand Total".
In the cell A2, I would like to enter a number, eg. 400 (this would then
appear in A3 as 400), THEN I would like to enter another number, eg. 307 in
cell A2. (this wouuld then appear in A3 as 707).

I hope that explains it, I find it a bit confusing.
Thanks for any help you can offer
--
@---}--
Laura.....
Liverpool, England



  #5  
Old January 3rd, 2006, 10:48 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel,microsoft.public.excel.newusers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Adding on excel

A code solution

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Const WS_RANGE As String = "$A$2"

On Error GoTo ws_exit:
Application.EnableEvents = False
If Target.Address = WS_RANGE Then
With Target
.Offset(1, 0).Value = .Value + .Offset(1, 0).Value
End With
End If

ws_exit:
Application.EnableEvents = True
End Sub

'This is worksheet event code, which means that it needs to be
'placed in the appropriate worksheet code module, not a standard
'code module. To do this, right-click on the sheet tab, select
'the View Code option from the menu, and paste the code in.


--
HTH

Bob Phillips

(remove nothere from email address if mailing direct)

"Laura ( '_' )" wrote in message
...

Excel 2000

Hiya, I have a question for all you brainboxes out there!
Im VERY new to excel so please explain clearly or I'll be completley

lost!!

In the cell A3 I would like to have a "Grand Total".
In the cell A2, I would like to enter a number, eg. 400 (this would then
appear in A3 as 400), THEN I would like to enter another number, eg. 307

in
cell A2. (this wouuld then appear in A3 as 707).

I hope that explains it, I find it a bit confusing.
Thanks for any help you can offer
--
@---}--
Laura.....
Liverpool, England




  #6  
Old January 3rd, 2006, 11:07 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel.newusers,microsoft.public.excel
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Adding on excel

I would prefer it the easier way, but my office boss has asked me to find a
way to do it by inputting the data in just one cell, so i have to find out
how to do it.

And to make it even WORSE, i have sum sort of bug on my computer which wont
let me go on the internet or access links (im getting that sorted in another
newsgroup at the mo!)

So, if you could explain it to me, i would be *SO* grateful!
Thanks

--
@---}--
Laura.....
Liverpool, England

"Stefi" wrote in message
...
Hi Laura,

It can be done but only with a Change event macro! Do you really want this
instead of a simpler method: entering your numbers in A2, A3, etc. and

click
on Autosum in the next cell when you finished?

Regards,
Stefi

"Laura ( '_' )" ezt rta:


Excel 2000

Hiya, I have a question for all you brainboxes out there!
Im VERY new to excel so please explain clearly or I'll be completley

lost!!

In the cell A3 I would like to have a "Grand Total".
In the cell A2, I would like to enter a number, eg. 400 (this would then
appear in A3 as 400), THEN I would like to enter another number, eg.

307 in
cell A2. (this wouuld then appear in A3 as 707).

I hope that explains it, I find it a bit confusing.
Thanks for any help you can offer
--
@---}--
Laura.....
Liverpool, England





  #7  
Old January 3rd, 2006, 11:08 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel,microsoft.public.excel.newusers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Adding on excel

Hiya, Im sorry but i really dont have a clue what that is or what to do with
it.
Im sorry but im very very new :-S

--
@---}--
Laura.....
Liverpool, England

"Bob Phillips" wrote in message
...
A code solution

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Const WS_RANGE As String = "$A$2"

On Error GoTo ws_exit:
Application.EnableEvents = False
If Target.Address = WS_RANGE Then
With Target
.Offset(1, 0).Value = .Value + .Offset(1, 0).Value
End With
End If

ws_exit:
Application.EnableEvents = True
End Sub

'This is worksheet event code, which means that it needs to be
'placed in the appropriate worksheet code module, not a standard
'code module. To do this, right-click on the sheet tab, select
'the View Code option from the menu, and paste the code in.


--
HTH

Bob Phillips

(remove nothere from email address if mailing direct)

"Laura ( '_' )" wrote in message
...

Excel 2000

Hiya, I have a question for all you brainboxes out there!
Im VERY new to excel so please explain clearly or I'll be completley

lost!!

In the cell A3 I would like to have a "Grand Total".
In the cell A2, I would like to enter a number, eg. 400 (this would then
appear in A3 as 400), THEN I would like to enter another number, eg.

307
in
cell A2. (this wouuld then appear in A3 as 707).

I hope that explains it, I find it a bit confusing.
Thanks for any help you can offer
--
@---}--
Laura.....
Liverpool, England






  #8  
Old January 3rd, 2006, 11:37 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel,microsoft.public.excel.newusers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Adding on excel

Open the worksheet it is to apply to, follow the instructions at the end of
the code, go back to the worksheet and put some numbers in A2.

--
HTH

Bob Phillips

(remove nothere from email address if mailing direct)

"Laura ( '_' )" wrote in message
...
Hiya, Im sorry but i really dont have a clue what that is or what to do

with
it.
Im sorry but im very very new :-S

--
@---}--
Laura.....
Liverpool, England

"Bob Phillips" wrote in message
...
A code solution

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Const WS_RANGE As String = "$A$2"

On Error GoTo ws_exit:
Application.EnableEvents = False
If Target.Address = WS_RANGE Then
With Target
.Offset(1, 0).Value = .Value + .Offset(1, 0).Value
End With
End If

ws_exit:
Application.EnableEvents = True
End Sub

'This is worksheet event code, which means that it needs to be
'placed in the appropriate worksheet code module, not a standard
'code module. To do this, right-click on the sheet tab, select
'the View Code option from the menu, and paste the code in.


--
HTH

Bob Phillips

(remove nothere from email address if mailing direct)

"Laura ( '_' )" wrote in message
...

Excel 2000

Hiya, I have a question for all you brainboxes out there!
Im VERY new to excel so please explain clearly or I'll be completley

lost!!

In the cell A3 I would like to have a "Grand Total".
In the cell A2, I would like to enter a number, eg. 400 (this would

then
appear in A3 as 400), THEN I would like to enter another number, eg.

307
in
cell A2. (this wouuld then appear in A3 as 707).

I hope that explains it, I find it a bit confusing.
Thanks for any help you can offer
--
@---}--
Laura.....
Liverpool, England








  #9  
Old January 3rd, 2006, 12:52 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel,microsoft.public.excel.newusers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Adding on excel

Okay thanks Bob. I did what you asked, but when I type in A2, I get an error
message "Syntax error". Then the top line of the code you gave me highlights
yellow.
This is how i have it in my spreadsheet:

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Const WS_RANGE As String = "$A$2"

On Error GoTo ws_exit:
Application.EnableEvents = False
If Target.Address = WS_RANGE Then
With Target.
Offset(1, 0).Value = .Value + .Offset(1, 0).Value
End With
End If

ws_exit:
Application.EnableEvents = True
End Sub



Thanks,you've been very helpful so far

--
@---}--
Laura.....
Liverpool, England

"Bob Phillips" wrote in message
...
Open the worksheet it is to apply to, follow the instructions at the end

of
the code, go back to the worksheet and put some numbers in A2.

--
HTH

Bob Phillips

(remove nothere from email address if mailing direct)

"Laura ( '_' )" wrote in message
...
Hiya, Im sorry but i really dont have a clue what that is or what to do

with
it.
Im sorry but im very very new :-S

--
@---}--
Laura.....
Liverpool, England

"Bob Phillips" wrote in message
...
A code solution

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Const WS_RANGE As String = "$A$2"

On Error GoTo ws_exit:
Application.EnableEvents = False
If Target.Address = WS_RANGE Then
With Target
.Offset(1, 0).Value = .Value + .Offset(1, 0).Value
End With
End If

ws_exit:
Application.EnableEvents = True
End Sub

'This is worksheet event code, which means that it needs to be
'placed in the appropriate worksheet code module, not a standard
'code module. To do this, right-click on the sheet tab, select
'the View Code option from the menu, and paste the code in.


--
HTH

Bob Phillips

(remove nothere from email address if mailing direct)

"Laura ( '_' )" wrote in message
...

Excel 2000

Hiya, I have a question for all you brainboxes out there!
Im VERY new to excel so please explain clearly or I'll be completley
lost!!

In the cell A3 I would like to have a "Grand Total".
In the cell A2, I would like to enter a number, eg. 400 (this would

then
appear in A3 as 400), THEN I would like to enter another number,

eg.
307
in
cell A2. (this wouuld then appear in A3 as 707).

I hope that explains it, I find it a bit confusing.
Thanks for any help you can offer
--
@---}--
Laura.....
Liverpool, England










  #10  
Old January 3rd, 2006, 12:59 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.newusers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Adding on excel

A cell formula does not have memory (of previous values in a cell). The
only way to build in memory is with VBA (You chould have a worksheet
change event that updates the cell when there is a change in the cell)
http://www.mcgimpsey.com/excel /accumulator.html
which will be a stretch given your lack of experience in Excel.

As a practical matter, memory in a calculation is almost always a bad
idea. How would you deal with data entry errors in the cell? If the
running total somehow gets out of sync, how would you correct, or even
detect it?

Scudo's suggestion is a far more robust approach.

Sorry about the multi-post reply -- Comcast has apparently instituted a
new policy that does not permit a simultaneous reply to all of the
original groups.

Jerry

Laura ( '_' ) wrote:

I would prefer it the easier way, but my office boss has asked me to find a
way to do it by inputting the data in just one cell, so i have to find out
how to do it.

And to make it even WORSE, i have sum sort of bug on my computer which wont
let me go on the internet or access links (im getting that sorted in another
newsgroup at the mo!)

So, if you could explain it to me, i would be *SO* grateful!
Thanks


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can we import an Excel sheet to use as base for report? StargateFan New Users 9 November 4th, 2005 07:32 PM
Adding a Menu Item to Main Menu Problem in Excel Jack Gillis General Discussions 1 February 28th, 2005 04:03 PM
Excel Link: Adding rows in Excel does not add cells in Word Jameslp Tables 2 December 9th, 2004 07:18 PM
URGENT! Excel adding decimal places and #'s Rebecca General Discussion 1 October 1st, 2004 11:32 PM
Excel adding numbers incorrectly Jazz General Discussions 2 May 21st, 2004 02:36 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.