A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Form not allowing entry



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 11th, 2005, 03:47 PM
Aaron Howe
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Form not allowing entry

I have a really weird problem with a form I created. I
have a set of tables in a split database which hold
important data. I run a query from them to find missing
information using two criteria: That field A is completed
and that field B is not. I made a form based on this
query to fill in that missing information. But my form
won't let me complete that field.

I have tried entering data directly into the table and
it's fine. I tried entering into the query and it won't
allow it. I tried removing the constraints (is null, is
not null) in case that was causing some kind of loopback
but that's not it either. I even copied a very similar
form to see if I could change the fields in case it was a
property issue - but that didn't work.

Has anyone else come across such a problem?
  #2  
Old January 11th, 2005, 04:27 PM
Brian
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Aaron Howe" wrote in message
...
I have a really weird problem with a form I created. I
have a set of tables in a split database which hold
important data. I run a query from them to find missing
information using two criteria: That field A is completed
and that field B is not. I made a form based on this
query to fill in that missing information. But my form
won't let me complete that field.

I have tried entering data directly into the table and
it's fine. I tried entering into the query and it won't
allow it. I tried removing the constraints (is null, is
not null) in case that was causing some kind of loopback
but that's not it either. I even copied a very similar
form to see if I could change the fields in case it was a
property issue - but that didn't work.

Has anyone else come across such a problem?


It's nothing to do with your form, you've created a non-updatable query.
How many tables does it include? Are the joins all on defined relationships
i.e. primary key to foreign key? Can you post the SQL?



  #3  
Old January 11th, 2005, 04:51 PM
Eric Schittlipz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Aaron Howe" wrote in message
...
I have a really weird problem with a form I created. I
have a set of tables in a split database which hold
important data. I run a query from them to find missing
information using two criteria: That field A is completed
and that field B is not. I made a form based on this
query to fill in that missing information. But my form
won't let me complete that field.

I have tried entering data directly into the table and
it's fine. I tried entering into the query and it won't
allow it. I tried removing the constraints (is null, is
not null) in case that was causing some kind of loopback
but that's not it either. I even copied a very similar
form to see if I could change the fields in case it was a
property issue - but that didn't work.

Has anyone else come across such a problem?


Is the query based on a single table? With a primary key? Does it use
distinct values, top values or grouping? If yo still can't work it out, go
to the design of the query, select ViewSQL View and copy the SQL. Post
this statement.


  #4  
Old January 11th, 2005, 05:35 PM
Lonnie
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

This is normally because you have a Auto number or Key
are in the main table and when you created the queries
you didn't add this field. This is usually a manditory
field. Hope it helps!! Lonnie

-----Original Message-----
"Aaron Howe" wrote

in message
...
I have a really weird problem with a form I created. I
have a set of tables in a split database which hold
important data. I run a query from them to find

missing
information using two criteria: That field A is

completed
and that field B is not. I made a form based on this
query to fill in that missing information. But my form
won't let me complete that field.

I have tried entering data directly into the table and
it's fine. I tried entering into the query and it

won't
allow it. I tried removing the constraints (is null,

is
not null) in case that was causing some kind of

loopback
but that's not it either. I even copied a very similar
form to see if I could change the fields in case it

was a
property issue - but that didn't work.

Has anyone else come across such a problem?


It's nothing to do with your form, you've created a non-

updatable query.
How many tables does it include? Are the joins all on

defined relationships
i.e. primary key to foreign key? Can you post the SQL?



.

  #5  
Old January 12th, 2005, 09:14 AM
Aaron Howe
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


-----Original Message-----
"Aaron Howe" wrote

in message
...
I have a really weird problem with a form I created. I
have a set of tables in a split database which hold
important data. I run a query from them to find

missing
information using two criteria: That field A is

completed
and that field B is not. I made a form based on this
query to fill in that missing information. But my form
won't let me complete that field.

I have tried entering data directly into the table and
it's fine. I tried entering into the query and it

won't
allow it. I tried removing the constraints (is null,

is
not null) in case that was causing some kind of

loopback
but that's not it either. I even copied a very similar
form to see if I could change the fields in case it

was a
property issue - but that didn't work.

Has anyone else come across such a problem?


It's nothing to do with your form, you've created a non-

updatable query.
How many tables does it include? Are the joins all on

defined relationships
i.e. primary key to foreign key? Can you post the SQL?

-----Original Message-----

This is normally because you have a Auto number or Key
are in the main table and when you created the queries
you didn't add this field. This is usually a manditory
field. Hope it helps!! Lonnie


I've been through and looked at all the joins etc and as
far as I can see, there are no glaring issues...

Here's the SQL:

SELECT tblSuppliers.AgName, tblXInvs.XInv,
tblAgInvs.CltName, tblXInvs.AgInv, tblXInvs.ClrDate,
tblAgInvs.Value, tblAgInvs.WE
FROM tblSuppliers INNER JOIN (tblAgInvs INNER JOIN
tblXInvs ON tblAgInvs.AgInv = tblXInvs.AgInv) ON
tblSuppliers.AgName = tblAgInvs.AgName
GROUP BY tblSuppliers.AgName, tblXInvs.XInv,
tblAgInvs.CltName, tblXInvs.AgInv, tblXInvs.ClrDate,
tblAgInvs.Value, tblAgInvs.WE
HAVING (((tblXInvs.XInv) Is Not Null) AND
((tblXInvs.ClrDate) Is Null))
ORDER BY tblXInvs.AgInv;

It still doesn't make much sense to me I'm afraid...
  #6  
Old January 12th, 2005, 09:44 AM
Brian
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Aaron Howe" wrote in message
...

I've been through and looked at all the joins etc and as
far as I can see, there are no glaring issues...

Here's the SQL:

SELECT tblSuppliers.AgName, tblXInvs.XInv,
tblAgInvs.CltName, tblXInvs.AgInv, tblXInvs.ClrDate,
tblAgInvs.Value, tblAgInvs.WE
FROM tblSuppliers INNER JOIN (tblAgInvs INNER JOIN
tblXInvs ON tblAgInvs.AgInv = tblXInvs.AgInv) ON
tblSuppliers.AgName = tblAgInvs.AgName
GROUP BY tblSuppliers.AgName, tblXInvs.XInv,
tblAgInvs.CltName, tblXInvs.AgInv, tblXInvs.ClrDate,
tblAgInvs.Value, tblAgInvs.WE
HAVING (((tblXInvs.XInv) Is Not Null) AND
((tblXInvs.ClrDate) Is Null))
ORDER BY tblXInvs.AgInv;

It still doesn't make much sense to me I'm afraid...


For a start, you should remove the GROUP BY, it's doing nothing useful, and
replace the HAVING clause with a WHERE clause.


  #7  
Old January 12th, 2005, 11:05 AM
Aaron Howe
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


-----Original Message-----
"Aaron Howe" wrote

in message
...

I've been through and looked at all the joins etc and as
far as I can see, there are no glaring issues...

Here's the SQL:

SELECT tblSuppliers.AgName, tblXInvs.XInv,
tblAgInvs.CltName, tblXInvs.AgInv, tblXInvs.ClrDate,
tblAgInvs.Value, tblAgInvs.WE
FROM tblSuppliers INNER JOIN (tblAgInvs INNER JOIN
tblXInvs ON tblAgInvs.AgInv = tblXInvs.AgInv) ON
tblSuppliers.AgName = tblAgInvs.AgName
GROUP BY tblSuppliers.AgName, tblXInvs.XInv,
tblAgInvs.CltName, tblXInvs.AgInv, tblXInvs.ClrDate,
tblAgInvs.Value, tblAgInvs.WE
HAVING (((tblXInvs.XInv) Is Not Null) AND
((tblXInvs.ClrDate) Is Null))
ORDER BY tblXInvs.AgInv;

It still doesn't make much sense to me I'm afraid...


For a start, you should remove the GROUP BY, it's doing

nothing useful, and
replace the HAVING clause with a WHERE clause.


.


Fantastic, that works now. So it was the HAVING clause
that caused the issue? I don't totally understand why,
but now I have a starting point to investigate and see
what it does. Thanks again everyone for your help!
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to clear controls of Filter form Jan Il Using Forms 2 November 28th, 2004 02:04 PM
Populating a form on data entry Kevin Smith General Discussion 1 October 28th, 2004 12:16 PM
Search Form / Data Entry Form Rosemary Using Forms 1 September 19th, 2004 10:46 PM
dlookup miaplacidus Using Forms 9 August 5th, 2004 09:16 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.