A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Powerpoint, Publisher and Visio » Powerpoint
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Macros Stop Working



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 8th, 2009, 03:13 PM posted to microsoft.public.powerpoint
Wi11y13
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 40
Default Macros Stop Working

Anyone have any idea why all of a sudden macros would stop working in the
middle of a slide show presentation. Using PP2007. The macros start out fine
but halfway through the slide show they just quit working and the user needs
to use the esc to exit. Otherwise it just sits there.
--
Wi11y13
  #3  
Old December 8th, 2009, 04:35 PM posted to microsoft.public.powerpoint
John Wilson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6,023
Default Macros Stop Working

What do the macros do? Maybe you can post the code?
--
john ATSIGN PPTAlchemy.co.uk

Free PPT Hints, Tips and Tutorials
http://www.pptalchemy.co.uk/powerpoi...tutorials.html






"Wi11y13" wrote:

Anyone have any idea why all of a sudden macros would stop working in the
middle of a slide show presentation. Using PP2007. The macros start out fine
but halfway through the slide show they just quit working and the user needs
to use the esc to exit. Otherwise it just sits there.
--
Wi11y13

  #4  
Old December 8th, 2009, 05:03 PM posted to microsoft.public.powerpoint
Wi11y13
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 40
Default Macros Stop Working

pretty simple really - one sets a string value in a variable and then "goes
to" another slide. The other one is an exit button. The code is included
below. The variables are actually define as "Public area3 As String", etc.

Sub hr()
area3 = "FSRF03 - Credit Agency Reports"
ActivePresentation.SlideShowWindow.View.GotoSlide (79)
End Sub

Sub ExitAllShows()
Application.Quit
End Sub

Once on the slide that has both of these macros within it, nothing works.
There are also other buttons that the user could click on but nothing works
when arriving at this slide. The user must hit the esc to get out of it.
Macros and transitions seem to work on prior slides though. Very strange....
Is there maybe a known problem that SP2 might fix?
--
Wi11y13


"John Wilson" wrote:

What do the macros do? Maybe you can post the code?
--
john ATSIGN PPTAlchemy.co.uk

Free PPT Hints, Tips and Tutorials
http://www.pptalchemy.co.uk/powerpoi...tutorials.html






"Wi11y13" wrote:

Anyone have any idea why all of a sudden macros would stop working in the
middle of a slide show presentation. Using PP2007. The macros start out fine
but halfway through the slide show they just quit working and the user needs
to use the esc to exit. Otherwise it just sits there.
--
Wi11y13

  #5  
Old December 8th, 2009, 09:24 PM posted to microsoft.public.powerpoint
Wi11y13
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 40
Default Macros Stop Working

If it helps (or hurts) the client is running Vista....
--
Wi11y13


"John Wilson" wrote:

What do the macros do? Maybe you can post the code?
--
john ATSIGN PPTAlchemy.co.uk

Free PPT Hints, Tips and Tutorials
http://www.pptalchemy.co.uk/powerpoi...tutorials.html






"Wi11y13" wrote:

Anyone have any idea why all of a sudden macros would stop working in the
middle of a slide show presentation. Using PP2007. The macros start out fine
but halfway through the slide show they just quit working and the user needs
to use the esc to exit. Otherwise it just sits there.
--
Wi11y13

  #6  
Old December 8th, 2009, 09:32 PM posted to microsoft.public.powerpoint
Wi11y13
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 40
Default Macros Stop Working

ok - upon further testing it seems that not only is the client running Vista,
but the previous macros are not working at all as first thought - JUST the
slide transitions.
--
Wi11y13


"John Wilson" wrote:

What do the macros do? Maybe you can post the code?
--
john ATSIGN PPTAlchemy.co.uk

Free PPT Hints, Tips and Tutorials
http://www.pptalchemy.co.uk/powerpoi...tutorials.html






"Wi11y13" wrote:

Anyone have any idea why all of a sudden macros would stop working in the
middle of a slide show presentation. Using PP2007. The macros start out fine
but halfway through the slide show they just quit working and the user needs
to use the esc to exit. Otherwise it just sits there.
--
Wi11y13

  #8  
Old December 9th, 2009, 12:58 PM posted to microsoft.public.powerpoint
Bill Dilworth
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,455
Default Macros Stop Working

Two possibilities:

1. as David says, the user may have Macros disabled on that machine.

-or-

2. The Macro may encounter an error that is not correctly handled or when
VBA gets confused, it simple stops responding. The possibilities are that
the variable may not have been correctly defined or there may not be a slide
79 or the slide show may not be active. All unlikely, agreed, but this is a
behavior that I have run across before (especially if you have set up an On
Error - Stop type of trap anywhere in your code).


Bill Dilworth


"David Marcovitz" wrote in message
...
On 12/8/09 4:32 PM, in article
, "Wi11y13"
wrote:

ok - upon further testing it seems that not only is the client running
Vista,
but the previous macros are not working at all as first thought - JUST
the
slide transitions.


Well, that makes a lot more sense. Macros must be off for that user.

--
David M. Marcovitz
Author of _Powerful PowerPoint for Educators_
http://www.PowerfulPowerPoint.com/
Microsoft PowerPoint MVP
Associate Professor, Loyola University Maryland




  #9  
Old December 11th, 2009, 12:28 AM posted to microsoft.public.powerpoint
Wi11y13
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 40
Default Macros Stop Working

It happens for any macro in this slide show when executed on the Vista
machine. We have only tried it on 1 Vista but it seems to work ok in XP. On
the Vista machine, the user answered yes to the security question that comes
up and states "macros are disabled would you like to enable". She "clicked"
on the enable button.

In XP if the macros are disabled, then the Powerpoint transitions do not
even work at all. In this case the transitions work ok but none of the
macros work - on any page. If you attempt a macro nothing happens but then
hit a transition on the same page and that transition works.

There is no "trap" - I would not know how to do that :-)

I know very little about Vista but I am wondering if there is a Vista macro
inhibitor that "trumps" the Powerpoint security message that is displayed and
answered.

--
Wi11y13


"Bill Dilworth" wrote:

Two possibilities:

1. as David says, the user may have Macros disabled on that machine.

-or-

2. The Macro may encounter an error that is not correctly handled or when
VBA gets confused, it simple stops responding. The possibilities are that
the variable may not have been correctly defined or there may not be a slide
79 or the slide show may not be active. All unlikely, agreed, but this is a
behavior that I have run across before (especially if you have set up an On
Error - Stop type of trap anywhere in your code).


Bill Dilworth


"David Marcovitz" wrote in message
...
On 12/8/09 4:32 PM, in article
, "Wi11y13"
wrote:

ok - upon further testing it seems that not only is the client running
Vista,
but the previous macros are not working at all as first thought - JUST
the
slide transitions.


Well, that makes a lot more sense. Macros must be off for that user.

--
David M. Marcovitz
Author of _Powerful PowerPoint for Educators_
http://www.PowerfulPowerPoint.com/
Microsoft PowerPoint MVP
Associate Professor, Loyola University Maryland




.

  #10  
Old December 11th, 2009, 12:44 AM posted to microsoft.public.powerpoint
David Marcovitz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 647
Default Macros Stop Working

Do you have access to the Vista machine, or are you just hearing reports
from the user? It might help to do some experimenting. You might, for
example, create a simple PowerPoint with a simple macro, along the lines:

Sub SayHello()
MsgBox "Hello"
End Sub

Assign it to a button, and see if it runs on the Vista machine.

You might try compiling the VBA on the Vista machine to see if you get any
errors. Usually run-time errors in VBA throw up an error message while
Compile errors just make all macros stop working.

If you can post your code here, someone might be able to see if there are
any oddities in it.

--David

On 12/10/09 7:28 PM, in article
, "Wi11y13"
wrote:

It happens for any macro in this slide show when executed on the Vista
machine. We have only tried it on 1 Vista but it seems to work ok in XP. On
the Vista machine, the user answered yes to the security question that comes
up and states "macros are disabled would you like to enable". She "clicked"
on the enable button.

In XP if the macros are disabled, then the Powerpoint transitions do not
even work at all. In this case the transitions work ok but none of the
macros work - on any page. If you attempt a macro nothing happens but then
hit a transition on the same page and that transition works.

There is no "trap" - I would not know how to do that :-)

I know very little about Vista but I am wondering if there is a Vista macro
inhibitor that "trumps" the Powerpoint security message that is displayed and
answered.


--
David M. Marcovitz
Author of _Powerful PowerPoint for Educators_
http://www.PowerfulPowerPoint.com/
Microsoft PowerPoint MVP
Associate Professor, Loyola University Maryland


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.