A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Setting Up & Running Reports
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

make a check box appear only when source has a "Yes" value



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 30th, 2005, 12:22 PM
JohnLute
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default make a check box appear only when source has a "Yes" value

How can I make a check box appear only if its source has a "Yes" value? Is
this possible?

THANKS!

--
www.Marzetti.com
  #2  
Old September 30th, 2005, 12:40 PM
JohnLute
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I found the answer to this with a search. I'm using the format event of the
report's detail.

This brings up another challenge. How do I make the check box shrink?

--
www.Marzetti.com


"JohnLute" wrote:

How can I make a check box appear only if its source has a "Yes" value? Is
this possible?

THANKS!

--
www.Marzetti.com

  #3  
Old September 30th, 2005, 12:57 PM
Ofer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Why do you need it to shrink if you dont display it when its false

On the Format event of the detail section, you can write the code
me.CheckBoxName.Visble = iif(me.CheckBoxName is null, False,me.CheckBoxName)

--
I hope that helped
Good luck


"JohnLute" wrote:

I found the answer to this with a search. I'm using the format event of the
report's detail.

This brings up another challenge. How do I make the check box shrink?

--
www.Marzetti.com


"JohnLute" wrote:

How can I make a check box appear only if its source has a "Yes" value? Is
this possible?

THANKS!

--
www.Marzetti.com

  #4  
Old September 30th, 2005, 01:21 PM
JohnLute
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks, Ofer! I need it to shrink so that it won't take up any report space.
I have several check boxes and each one takes up space that I want to be able
to condense.

The code you supplied seems to produce an error: RunTime Error 424 Object
Required.

This doesn't make sense to me.

--
www.Marzetti.com


"Ofer" wrote:

Why do you need it to shrink if you dont display it when its false

On the Format event of the detail section, you can write the code
me.CheckBoxName.Visble = iif(me.CheckBoxName is null, False,me.CheckBoxName)

--
I hope that helped
Good luck


"JohnLute" wrote:

I found the answer to this with a search. I'm using the format event of the
report's detail.

This brings up another challenge. How do I make the check box shrink?

--
www.Marzetti.com


"JohnLute" wrote:

How can I make a check box appear only if its source has a "Yes" value? Is
this possible?

THANKS!

--
www.Marzetti.com

  #5  
Old September 30th, 2005, 01:30 PM
Ofer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Have you changed the CheckBoxName to the name of the object in your report?
--
I hope that helped
Good luck


"JohnLute" wrote:

Thanks, Ofer! I need it to shrink so that it won't take up any report space.
I have several check boxes and each one takes up space that I want to be able
to condense.

The code you supplied seems to produce an error: RunTime Error 424 Object
Required.

This doesn't make sense to me.

--
www.Marzetti.com


"Ofer" wrote:

Why do you need it to shrink if you dont display it when its false

On the Format event of the detail section, you can write the code
me.CheckBoxName.Visble = iif(me.CheckBoxName is null, False,me.CheckBoxName)

--
I hope that helped
Good luck


"JohnLute" wrote:

I found the answer to this with a search. I'm using the format event of the
report's detail.

This brings up another challenge. How do I make the check box shrink?

--
www.Marzetti.com


"JohnLute" wrote:

How can I make a check box appear only if its source has a "Yes" value? Is
this possible?

THANKS!

--
www.Marzetti.com

  #6  
Old September 30th, 2005, 01:45 PM
JohnLute
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Tes. That's why the error is so puzzling. I've double checked and the naming
is in order.
--
www.Marzetti.com


"Ofer" wrote:

Have you changed the CheckBoxName to the name of the object in your report?
--
I hope that helped
Good luck


"JohnLute" wrote:

Thanks, Ofer! I need it to shrink so that it won't take up any report space.
I have several check boxes and each one takes up space that I want to be able
to condense.

The code you supplied seems to produce an error: RunTime Error 424 Object
Required.

This doesn't make sense to me.

--
www.Marzetti.com


"Ofer" wrote:

Why do you need it to shrink if you dont display it when its false

On the Format event of the detail section, you can write the code
me.CheckBoxName.Visble = iif(me.CheckBoxName is null, False,me.CheckBoxName)

--
I hope that helped
Good luck


"JohnLute" wrote:

I found the answer to this with a search. I'm using the format event of the
report's detail.

This brings up another challenge. How do I make the check box shrink?

--
www.Marzetti.com


"JohnLute" wrote:

How can I make a check box appear only if its source has a "Yes" value? Is
this possible?

THANKS!

--
www.Marzetti.com

  #7  
Old October 1st, 2005, 10:34 PM
Ofer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The check box doesn't have a can shrink property, but you can make it visible
false, and set the can shrink propert of the section whrere the check box is,
to yes.

About the error, can you post the code you have, and did you define it in
the code section?


--
I hope that helped
Good luck


"JohnLute" wrote:

Tes. That's why the error is so puzzling. I've double checked and the naming
is in order.
--
www.Marzetti.com


"Ofer" wrote:

Have you changed the CheckBoxName to the name of the object in your report?
--
I hope that helped
Good luck


"JohnLute" wrote:

Thanks, Ofer! I need it to shrink so that it won't take up any report space.
I have several check boxes and each one takes up space that I want to be able
to condense.

The code you supplied seems to produce an error: RunTime Error 424 Object
Required.

This doesn't make sense to me.

--
www.Marzetti.com


"Ofer" wrote:

Why do you need it to shrink if you dont display it when its false

On the Format event of the detail section, you can write the code
me.CheckBoxName.Visble = iif(me.CheckBoxName is null, False,me.CheckBoxName)

--
I hope that helped
Good luck


"JohnLute" wrote:

I found the answer to this with a search. I'm using the format event of the
report's detail.

This brings up another challenge. How do I make the check box shrink?

--
www.Marzetti.com


"JohnLute" wrote:

How can I make a check box appear only if its source has a "Yes" value? Is
this possible?

THANKS!

--
www.Marzetti.com

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Data Source Name Not Found Justin Tyme Worksheet Functions 0 June 16th, 2005 11:45 PM
mail merge main document. Word cannot find its data source Marvin Herrera Mailmerge 1 November 23rd, 2004 12:00 AM
Word 2000/2002 - Proper Mail Merge steps for ODBC? Tony_VBACoder Mailmerge 7 September 2nd, 2004 09:21 PM
Mial merge data base problems Rachael Mailmerge 16 May 21st, 2004 06:22 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.