A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Home Version Access



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 26th, 2006, 05:08 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
accessdesigner
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 89
Default Home Version Access

I purchased a home version of Access from Microsoft through my job, and when
I tried the following statement using the home version of Access, it wont
recognize [NameThings.NameLOOK] as being correct, but it works at work: (why?)

Dim strwhere As String
strwhere = ""
If Not IsNull(Me.NameList) Then
If Me.NameList = [NameThings.NameLOOK] Then
strwhere = strwhere & Me.NameList
End If
End If
  #2  
Old November 26th, 2006, 05:27 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Douglas J. Steele
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9,313
Default Home Version Access

I'm surprised it recognizes that in any version.

What is NameThings?

If it's an open form, that should be Forms![NameThings]![NameLOOK]

If it's a table, you need to use a DLookup: DLookup("[NameLOOK]",
"[NameThings]")

If it's a recordset, you need to use NameThings!NameLOOK


--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no private e-mails, please)


"accessdesigner" wrote in message
...
I purchased a home version of Access from Microsoft through my job, and
when
I tried the following statement using the home version of Access, it wont
recognize [NameThings.NameLOOK] as being correct, but it works at work:
(why?)

Dim strwhere As String
strwhere = ""
If Not IsNull(Me.NameList) Then
If Me.NameList = [NameThings.NameLOOK] Then
strwhere = strwhere & Me.NameList
End If
End If



  #3  
Old November 26th, 2006, 05:32 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,354
Default Home Version Access

"accessdesigner" wrote in message
...
I purchased a home version of Access from Microsoft through my job, and when
I tried the following statement using the home version of Access, it wont
recognize [NameThings.NameLOOK] as being correct, but it works at work: (why?)

Dim strwhere As String
strwhere = ""
If Not IsNull(Me.NameList) Then
If Me.NameList = [NameThings.NameLOOK] Then
strwhere = strwhere & Me.NameList
End If
End If


There is no "home version" of Access and your syntax is incorrect. When square
brackets are required they need to go around each reference "piece" not around
the outside as you have them.

If Me.NameList = [NameThings].[NameLOOK] Then...

or since your names don't actually require the brackets...

If Me.NameList = NameThings.NameLOOK Then

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com




  #4  
Old November 26th, 2006, 05:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
ruralguy via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,172
Default Home Version Access

I don't know what a "Home Version" of Access could possible be other than a
retail version of Access. It is probably a later version than you are using
at work. Each version released was a little less forgiving that the prior
version. I believe the correct syntax is:

If Me.NameList = [NameThings].[NameLOOK] Then

If [NameThings] is the name of a table bound to the form you are working on
then I think:

If Me.NameList = [NameLOOK] Then

...will work as well.

accessdesigner wrote:
I purchased a home version of Access from Microsoft through my job, and when
I tried the following statement using the home version of Access, it wont
recognize [NameThings.NameLOOK] as being correct, but it works at work: (why?)

Dim strwhere As String
strwhere = ""
If Not IsNull(Me.NameList) Then
If Me.NameList = [NameThings.NameLOOK] Then
strwhere = strwhere & Me.NameList
End If
End If


--
HTH - RuralGuy (RG for short) acXP WinXP Pro
Please post back to this forum so all may benefit.

Message posted via http://www.accessmonster.com

  #5  
Old November 26th, 2006, 05:49 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
accessdesigner
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 89
Default Home Version Access

when i used ......If Me.NameList = [NameThings].[NameLOOK] Then... an error
message read .....MS ACCESS CAN'T FIND THE FIELD 'l' REFERRED IN YOUR
EXPRESSION

when i used ..... If Me.NameList = NameThings.NameLOOK Then...an error
message read... OBJECT REQUIRED

when i said home version of MS Access... its a version of MS software that
MS allows employees of other companies, such as mine, to purchase for home
use.... (Microsoft Home Use Program,... this product is not for resale)



"Rick Brandt" wrote:

"accessdesigner" wrote in message
...
I purchased a home version of Access from Microsoft through my job, and when
I tried the following statement using the home version of Access, it wont
recognize [NameThings.NameLOOK] as being correct, but it works at work: (why?)

Dim strwhere As String
strwhere = ""
If Not IsNull(Me.NameList) Then
If Me.NameList = [NameThings.NameLOOK] Then
strwhere = strwhere & Me.NameList
End If
End If


There is no "home version" of Access and your syntax is incorrect. When square
brackets are required they need to go around each reference "piece" not around
the outside as you have them.

If Me.NameList = [NameThings].[NameLOOK] Then...

or since your names don't actually require the brackets...

If Me.NameList = NameThings.NameLOOK Then

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com





  #6  
Old November 26th, 2006, 05:51 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
accessdesigner
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 89
Default Home Version Access

It's a query, and field name,... i was surprised too that i didnt work,
because it worked at work....

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

I'm surprised it recognizes that in any version.

What is NameThings?

If it's an open form, that should be Forms![NameThings]![NameLOOK]

If it's a table, you need to use a DLookup: DLookup("[NameLOOK]",
"[NameThings]")

If it's a recordset, you need to use NameThings!NameLOOK


--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no private e-mails, please)


"accessdesigner" wrote in message
...
I purchased a home version of Access from Microsoft through my job, and
when
I tried the following statement using the home version of Access, it wont
recognize [NameThings.NameLOOK] as being correct, but it works at work:
(why?)

Dim strwhere As String
strwhere = ""
If Not IsNull(Me.NameList) Then
If Me.NameList = [NameThings.NameLOOK] Then
strwhere = strwhere & Me.NameList
End If
End If




  #7  
Old November 26th, 2006, 06:05 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
accessdesigner
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 89
Default Home Version Access

Okay... too much emphasis on the use of the word home version... through my
job, I purchased the right to use MS Access on my home computer.. they mailed
me the software...im using it at home. however, when i practice using Access
at home, the same thing I did at work, doesnt work here at home...

when i used ......If Me.NameList = [NameThings].[NameLOOK] Then... an error
message read .....MS ACCESS CAN'T FIND THE FIELD 'l' REFERRED IN YOUR
EXPRESSION

when i used ..... If Me.NameList = NameThings.NameLOOK Then...an error
message read... OBJECT REQUIRED

Im trying to get a combobox selection from a form to match what is in my
query named NameThings, under the NameLOOK field...

"ruralguy via AccessMonster.com" wrote:

I don't know what a "Home Version" of Access could possible be other than a
retail version of Access. It is probably a later version than you are using
at work. Each version released was a little less forgiving that the prior
version. I believe the correct syntax is:

If Me.NameList = [NameThings].[NameLOOK] Then

If [NameThings] is the name of a table bound to the form you are working on
then I think:

If Me.NameList = [NameLOOK] Then

...will work as well.

accessdesigner wrote:
I purchased a home version of Access from Microsoft through my job, and when
I tried the following statement using the home version of Access, it wont
recognize [NameThings.NameLOOK] as being correct, but it works at work: (why?)

Dim strwhere As String
strwhere = ""
If Not IsNull(Me.NameList) Then
If Me.NameList = [NameThings.NameLOOK] Then
strwhere = strwhere & Me.NameList
End If
End If


--
HTH - RuralGuy (RG for short) acXP WinXP Pro
Please post back to this forum so all may benefit.

Message posted via http://www.accessmonster.com


  #8  
Old November 26th, 2006, 06:12 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
tina
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,997
Default Home Version Access

you can't return a value from a query that way, unless the query is bound to
the form that the code is running from (in which case, all you'd need is the
field reference, as ruralguy pointed out).

if the query NameThings only returns one record, then you can retrieve the
value of the NameLOOK field with a DLookup() function as described by Doug
Steele, and assign it to Me.NameList; otherwise, you're going to need to
apply criteria in the DLookup() to retrieve the appropriate record from the
query.

hth


"accessdesigner" wrote in message
...
It's a query, and field name,... i was surprised too that i didnt work,
because it worked at work....

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

I'm surprised it recognizes that in any version.

What is NameThings?

If it's an open form, that should be Forms![NameThings]![NameLOOK]

If it's a table, you need to use a DLookup: DLookup("[NameLOOK]",
"[NameThings]")

If it's a recordset, you need to use NameThings!NameLOOK


--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no private e-mails, please)


"accessdesigner" wrote in

message
...
I purchased a home version of Access from Microsoft through my job, and
when
I tried the following statement using the home version of Access, it

wont
recognize [NameThings.NameLOOK] as being correct, but it works at

work:
(why?)

Dim strwhere As String
strwhere = ""
If Not IsNull(Me.NameList) Then
If Me.NameList = [NameThings.NameLOOK] Then
strwhere = strwhere & Me.NameList
End If
End If






  #9  
Old November 26th, 2006, 06:17 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
ruralguy via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,172
Default Home Version Access

Thanks Granny! Now all of us are a little wiser. ;^)

Granny Spitz wrote:
There is no "home version" of Access


The "home version" of Access is a fringe benefit of employees who work for
large companies. It's part of a licensing agreement from Microsoft (and
other software vendors who offer the same thing) where employees who have a
license for Office on their work computer can purchase (or get a free CD) of
the "home version" of retail Office to install on their home computers so
they can work at home. This often happens with antivirus software, since
many companies are willing to foot the bill for more secure computers on
their networks.

I don't know if they still mark them in newer versions, but you can tell you
have a home version of Access when you open a form in form view. There's a
red stripe across the top of the Detail section.


--
HTH - RuralGuy (RG for short) acXP WinXP Pro
Please post back to this forum so all may benefit.

Message posted via http://www.accessmonster.com

  #10  
Old November 26th, 2006, 06:19 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
accessdesigner
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 89
Default Home Version Access

ty Granny... I was trying to keep it simple, but sometimes... well, the
software itself, MS Access 2003, so far, looks like the one at work, (EXCEPT
IT WONT READ A SIMPLE INSTRUCTION)... however, the CD case that it came in,
looks like a "bootleg" no color on it, black and white print with NO RESALE
- Microsoft Home Use Program,... this product is not for resale .... all over
it.....

what about my program statement that still does not work? :-(

"Granny Spitz via AccessMonster.com" wrote:

Rick Brandt wrote:
There is no "home version" of Access


The "home version" of Access is a fringe benefit of employees who work for
large companies. It's part of a licensing agreement from Microsoft (and
other software vendors who offer the same thing) where employees who have a
license for Office on their work computer can purchase (or get a free CD) of
the "home version" of retail Office to install on their home computers so
they can work at home. This often happens with antivirus software, since
many companies are willing to foot the bill for more secure computers on
their networks.

I don't know if they still mark them in newer versions, but you can tell you
have a home version of Access when you open a form in form view. There's a
red stripe across the top of the Detail section.

--
Message posted via http://www.accessmonster.com


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.