A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

make a form pause for user to select from drop down list.



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 12th, 2008, 09:31 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
CD Tom
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 118
Default make a form pause for user to select from drop down list.

I'm building data for a report and after the data is built I prompt the user
as to how they want the data to be displayed, they can display by individual
or by a category, if they select by Individual I make visible the combo box
where they can select the individual the problem I'm having is that even
though I set the focus to the combo box the program just continues on without
any pause. I need the program to pause on the combo box so the user can
select the individual and I will have the emp# to lookup by. Does anybody
have an answer. Thanks for any help.
  #2  
Old May 12th, 2008, 10:01 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default make a form pause for user to select from drop down list.

Howdy, CD
Saw you making smoke on the cover of The Cowby Chronicle.

The only way to pause code is to open a form in dialog mode
Docmd.OpenForm "SomeForm", , , , , acDialog

It will pause until the form closes. You may need to consider using this
approach and passing the value back to the other form when the dialog form
closes.
--
Dave Hargis, Microsoft Access MVP


"CD Tom" wrote:

I'm building data for a report and after the data is built I prompt the user
as to how they want the data to be displayed, they can display by individual
or by a category, if they select by Individual I make visible the combo box
where they can select the individual the problem I'm having is that even
though I set the focus to the combo box the program just continues on without
any pause. I need the program to pause on the combo box so the user can
select the individual and I will have the emp# to lookup by. Does anybody
have an answer. Thanks for any help.

  #3  
Old May 12th, 2008, 10:14 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
CD Tom
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 118
Default make a form pause for user to select from drop down list.

Oh how do you pass that information back?

"Klatuu" wrote:

Howdy, CD
Saw you making smoke on the cover of The Cowby Chronicle.

The only way to pause code is to open a form in dialog mode
Docmd.OpenForm "SomeForm", , , , , acDialog

It will pause until the form closes. You may need to consider using this
approach and passing the value back to the other form when the dialog form
closes.
--
Dave Hargis, Microsoft Access MVP


"CD Tom" wrote:

I'm building data for a report and after the data is built I prompt the user
as to how they want the data to be displayed, they can display by individual
or by a category, if they select by Individual I make visible the combo box
where they can select the individual the problem I'm having is that even
though I set the focus to the combo box the program just continues on without
any pause. I need the program to pause on the combo box so the user can
select the individual and I will have the emp# to lookup by. Does anybody
have an answer. Thanks for any help.

  #4  
Old May 12th, 2008, 10:14 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
CD Tom
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 118
Default make a form pause for user to select from drop down list.

Quite a surprise, I helped them do the scoring. Are you still active in
Cowboy action?
I thought that was going to be the only way, isn't there a pause command
that I could put after the dialog box and then in the after update make it
continue?


"Klatuu" wrote:

Howdy, CD
Saw you making smoke on the cover of The Cowby Chronicle.

The only way to pause code is to open a form in dialog mode
Docmd.OpenForm "SomeForm", , , , , acDialog

It will pause until the form closes. You may need to consider using this
approach and passing the value back to the other form when the dialog form
closes.
--
Dave Hargis, Microsoft Access MVP


"CD Tom" wrote:

I'm building data for a report and after the data is built I prompt the user
as to how they want the data to be displayed, they can display by individual
or by a category, if they select by Individual I make visible the combo box
where they can select the individual the problem I'm having is that even
though I set the focus to the combo box the program just continues on without
any pause. I need the program to pause on the combo box so the user can
select the individual and I will have the emp# to lookup by. Does anybody
have an answer. Thanks for any help.

  #5  
Old May 12th, 2008, 10:21 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
CD Tom
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 118
Default make a form pause for user to select from drop down list.

Is there anyway to position the dialog form in a particular spot on the screen?

"Klatuu" wrote:

Howdy, CD
Saw you making smoke on the cover of The Cowby Chronicle.

The only way to pause code is to open a form in dialog mode
Docmd.OpenForm "SomeForm", , , , , acDialog

It will pause until the form closes. You may need to consider using this
approach and passing the value back to the other form when the dialog form
closes.
--
Dave Hargis, Microsoft Access MVP


"CD Tom" wrote:

I'm building data for a report and after the data is built I prompt the user
as to how they want the data to be displayed, they can display by individual
or by a category, if they select by Individual I make visible the combo box
where they can select the individual the problem I'm having is that even
though I set the focus to the combo box the program just continues on without
any pause. I need the program to pause on the combo box so the user can
select the individual and I will have the emp# to lookup by. Does anybody
have an answer. Thanks for any help.

  #6  
Old May 12th, 2008, 11:16 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default make a form pause for user to select from drop down list.

Yep, I was out shooting Saturday.

You can pass the value back to the calling form by pushing the value to it.
I would use the dialog form's Unload event. Assume it has a combo on it and
you are passing it back to a combo on the calling form:

Forms!CallingFormName!cboSomething = Me.MyCombo

As to positioning, you could use the MoveSize method in the dialog form's
Load event.

--
Dave Hargis, Microsoft Access MVP


"CD Tom" wrote:

Is there anyway to position the dialog form in a particular spot on the screen?

"Klatuu" wrote:

Howdy, CD
Saw you making smoke on the cover of The Cowby Chronicle.

The only way to pause code is to open a form in dialog mode
Docmd.OpenForm "SomeForm", , , , , acDialog

It will pause until the form closes. You may need to consider using this
approach and passing the value back to the other form when the dialog form
closes.
--
Dave Hargis, Microsoft Access MVP


"CD Tom" wrote:

I'm building data for a report and after the data is built I prompt the user
as to how they want the data to be displayed, they can display by individual
or by a category, if they select by Individual I make visible the combo box
where they can select the individual the problem I'm having is that even
though I set the focus to the combo box the program just continues on without
any pause. I need the program to pause on the combo box so the user can
select the individual and I will have the emp# to lookup by. Does anybody
have an answer. Thanks for any help.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.