A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » New Users
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Combo Boxes



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 22nd, 2009, 07:56 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Ray C
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 215
Default Combo Boxes

I have taken to using Combo Boxes in my main form instead of using a seperate
Menu or Switchboard and I have two questions.
1. Is it possible to have the Combo Box Selection drop down when the combo
is selected as being live? I have tried all sorts bu can only have the combo
box display and the dropdowb selection become "live" when I click the small
arrow at the side. I would like it to display the options as I am offering
the selections to the user.
2. is there any way to make the combo's first item available in the list be
displayed first? What I mean here is that Combo 1 with Option 1, option 2,
option 3 etc as its selections would show option 1 in the Combo Box with
Option 1, shown again as the lead option in the drop down menu.

Any thoughts, help appreciated Thanks Ray C
  #2  
Old January 22nd, 2009, 08:15 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
MikeJohnB
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 464
Default Combo Boxes

Try looking at the help for combo boxes provided in the VB help.

Example
The following example shows how you can use the Dropdown method within the
GotFocus event procedure to force a combo box named SupplierID to drop down
when it receives the focus.

Private Sub YourComboName_GotFocus()
Me!YourComboName.Dropdown
End Sub

Will display the contents list of the combo as it receives focus. ie you
will not have to click the button you spoke of.

I hope I have understood your first problem?????

As far as your second problem goes, I don't understand what you are trying
to do from your description. Can you please clarify? If its the list order
that appears in the drop down, you change the order in the underlying query
of the Combo box, Click the three dots in the Row Source, open the query in
design view and just drag the columns into the order you want them to appear
in the list. This would normally be done as you use the wizard tho so perhaps
I don't understand what you mean on this one????

Does this help????

Kindest regards
Mike B
--
Advice to Posters.
Check your post for replies or request for more information.
Consider providing some feed back to the response you have recieved.
Kindest Regards Mike B


"Ray C" wrote:

I have taken to using Combo Boxes in my main form instead of using a seperate
Menu or Switchboard and I have two questions.
1. Is it possible to have the Combo Box Selection drop down when the combo
is selected as being live? I have tried all sorts bu can only have the combo
box display and the dropdowb selection become "live" when I click the small
arrow at the side. I would like it to display the options as I am offering
the selections to the user.
2. is there any way to make the combo's first item available in the list be
displayed first? What I mean here is that Combo 1 with Option 1, option 2,
option 3 etc as its selections would show option 1 in the Combo Box with
Option 1, shown again as the lead option in the drop down menu.

Any thoughts, help appreciated Thanks Ray C

  #3  
Old January 22nd, 2009, 08:20 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
MikeJohnB
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 464
Default Combo Boxes

Oops forgot to change some of the demo text

Example
The following example shows how you can use the Dropdown method within the
GotFocus event procedure to force a combo box named SupplierID to drop down
when it receives the focus.


Should read

Example
The following example shows how you can use the Dropdown method within the
GotFocus event procedure to force a combo box named """YourComboName"""" to drop down
when it receives the focus.


On point 2 once again, if you are talking about the order in the items
appear in the drop down list, open the Row Source Query in design view again
and select sort Ascending for option one???

Regards
Mike B
--
Advice to Posters.
Check your post for replies or request for more information.
Consider providing some feed back to the response you have recieved.
Kindest Regards Mike B


"MikeJohnB" wrote:

Try looking at the help for combo boxes provided in the VB help.

Example
The following example shows how you can use the Dropdown method within the
GotFocus event procedure to force a combo box named SupplierID to drop down
when it receives the focus.

Private Sub YourComboName_GotFocus()
Me!YourComboName.Dropdown
End Sub

Will display the contents list of the combo as it receives focus. ie you
will not have to click the button you spoke of.

I hope I have understood your first problem?????

As far as your second problem goes, I don't understand what you are trying
to do from your description. Can you please clarify? If its the list order
that appears in the drop down, you change the order in the underlying query
of the Combo box, Click the three dots in the Row Source, open the query in
design view and just drag the columns into the order you want them to appear
in the list. This would normally be done as you use the wizard tho so perhaps
I don't understand what you mean on this one????

Does this help????

Kindest regards
Mike B
--
Advice to Posters.
Check your post for replies or request for more information.
Consider providing some feed back to the response you have recieved.
Kindest Regards Mike B


"Ray C" wrote:

I have taken to using Combo Boxes in my main form instead of using a seperate
Menu or Switchboard and I have two questions.
1. Is it possible to have the Combo Box Selection drop down when the combo
is selected as being live? I have tried all sorts bu can only have the combo
box display and the dropdowb selection become "live" when I click the small
arrow at the side. I would like it to display the options as I am offering
the selections to the user.
2. is there any way to make the combo's first item available in the list be
displayed first? What I mean here is that Combo 1 with Option 1, option 2,
option 3 etc as its selections would show option 1 in the Combo Box with
Option 1, shown again as the lead option in the drop down menu.

Any thoughts, help appreciated Thanks Ray C

  #4  
Old January 22nd, 2009, 10:15 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
John Spencer (MVP)
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 217
Default Combo Boxes

If the combobox row source is not a query but is a table then change the ros
source to a query of the table and set the sort order of the query.

If the row source is a Value list, you have edit the row source to list the
items in the desired order.

John Spencer
Access MVP 2002-2005, 2007-2009
The Hilltop Institute
University of Maryland Baltimore County

MikeJohnB wrote:
Oops forgot to change some of the demo text

Example
The following example shows how you can use the Dropdown method within the
GotFocus event procedure to force a combo box named SupplierID to drop down
when it receives the focus.


Should read

Example
The following example shows how you can use the Dropdown method within the
GotFocus event procedure to force a combo box named """YourComboName"""" to drop down
when it receives the focus.


On point 2 once again, if you are talking about the order in the items
appear in the drop down list, open the Row Source Query in design view again
and select sort Ascending for option one???

Regards
Mike B

  #5  
Old January 23rd, 2009, 04:33 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
tina
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,997
Default Combo Boxes

question one has been answered elsewhere in this thread. re question two:
if i understand correctly, you want the first value in the combobox control
to display in the control itself, before anything is selected by the user.
if the combobox control is *unbound* (ControlSource property is blank), and
if the values in the dropdown list are static - always the same, and in the
same order - then you should be able to set the control's DefaultValue to
what you know is the first value in the list. if the dropdown list is not
static, it might still be done; i've never tried it, so i'm not sure. but if
that's the situation, post back and we'll have a go at it.

hth


"Ray C" wrote in message
...
I have taken to using Combo Boxes in my main form instead of using a

seperate
Menu or Switchboard and I have two questions.
1. Is it possible to have the Combo Box Selection drop down when the combo
is selected as being live? I have tried all sorts bu can only have the

combo
box display and the dropdowb selection become "live" when I click the

small
arrow at the side. I would like it to display the options as I am offering
the selections to the user.
2. is there any way to make the combo's first item available in the list

be
displayed first? What I mean here is that Combo 1 with Option 1, option 2,
option 3 etc as its selections would show option 1 in the Combo Box with
Option 1, shown again as the lead option in the drop down menu.

Any thoughts, help appreciated Thanks Ray C



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.