A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Clear Unbound Text box used as input parameter to query



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 29th, 2010, 09:31 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Mommybear
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default Clear Unbound Text box used as input parameter to query

I've looked at everything I can find, tried all the suggestions but still
can't get this to work. I have a form that opens blank. You input your
parameter into an unbound text box then press a command button that performs
a requery of the database and returns the results in a continuous form. When
the results are returned, the parameter is listed as part of the detail in
the form so I want the parameter box to be cleared out and ready for the next
one.

My command on the Search button looks like this:

Private Sub SearchEPICode_Click()

Me.Requery

End Sub

I've tried adding Me!InputEPI = Null but nothing works. Am I adding it to
the wrong place.
  #2  
Old April 29th, 2010, 11:20 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Clear Unbound Text box used as input parameter to query

On Thu, 29 Apr 2010 13:31:01 -0700, Mommybear
wrote:

I've looked at everything I can find, tried all the suggestions but still
can't get this to work. I have a form that opens blank. You input your
parameter into an unbound text box then press a command button that performs
a requery of the database and returns the results in a continuous form. When
the results are returned, the parameter is listed as part of the detail in
the form so I want the parameter box to be cleared out and ready for the next
one.

My command on the Search button looks like this:

Private Sub SearchEPICode_Click()

Me.Requery

End Sub

I've tried adding Me!InputEPI = Null but nothing works. Am I adding it to
the wrong place.


Probably. You don't say where you're adding it!

I presume that the textbox named InputEPI has no Control Source, right? What
do you mean by "the parameter is listed as part of the detail"?
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #3  
Old April 29th, 2010, 11:50 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Beetle
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,254
Default Clear Unbound Text box used as input parameter to query

Well, Me!ZInputEPI = Null *should* work, but if it's not
you might try following it with a Me.Repaint. You might
also try;

Me!InputEPI = ""
--
_________

Sean Bailey


"Mommybear" wrote:

I've looked at everything I can find, tried all the suggestions but still
can't get this to work. I have a form that opens blank. You input your
parameter into an unbound text box then press a command button that performs
a requery of the database and returns the results in a continuous form. When
the results are returned, the parameter is listed as part of the detail in
the form so I want the parameter box to be cleared out and ready for the next
one.

My command on the Search button looks like this:

Private Sub SearchEPICode_Click()

Me.Requery

End Sub

I've tried adding Me!InputEPI = Null but nothing works. Am I adding it to
the wrong place.

  #4  
Old April 30th, 2010, 02:21 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Mommybear
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default Clear Unbound Text box used as input parameter to query

That is correct, it does NOT have a control source. The parameter is used to
search a field on my query, when it returns, the query field is displayed on
my form which happens to be the same as the parameter.




"John W. Vinson" wrote:

On Thu, 29 Apr 2010 13:31:01 -0700, Mommybear
wrote:

I've looked at everything I can find, tried all the suggestions but still
can't get this to work. I have a form that opens blank. You input your
parameter into an unbound text box then press a command button that performs
a requery of the database and returns the results in a continuous form. When
the results are returned, the parameter is listed as part of the detail in
the form so I want the parameter box to be cleared out and ready for the next
one.

My command on the Search button looks like this:

Private Sub SearchEPICode_Click()

Me.Requery

End Sub

I've tried adding Me!InputEPI = Null but nothing works. Am I adding it to
the wrong place.


Probably. You don't say where you're adding it!

I presume that the textbox named InputEPI has no Control Source, right? What
do you mean by "the parameter is listed as part of the detail"?
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
.

  #5  
Old April 30th, 2010, 02:25 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Mommybear
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default Clear Unbound Text box used as input parameter to query

None of these worked. I just want to clarify that I'm putting these on the
command button. Is that where I'm suppose to do this or should it be
someplace else.

"Beetle" wrote:

Well, Me!ZInputEPI = Null *should* work, but if it's not
you might try following it with a Me.Repaint. You might
also try;

Me!InputEPI = ""
--
_________

Sean Bailey


"Mommybear" wrote:

I've looked at everything I can find, tried all the suggestions but still
can't get this to work. I have a form that opens blank. You input your
parameter into an unbound text box then press a command button that performs
a requery of the database and returns the results in a continuous form. When
the results are returned, the parameter is listed as part of the detail in
the form so I want the parameter box to be cleared out and ready for the next
one.

My command on the Search button looks like this:

Private Sub SearchEPICode_Click()

Me.Requery

End Sub

I've tried adding Me!InputEPI = Null but nothing works. Am I adding it to
the wrong place.

  #6  
Old May 2nd, 2010, 02:17 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Clear Unbound Text box used as input parameter to query

On Fri, 30 Apr 2010 06:25:01 -0700, Mommybear
wrote:

None of these worked. I just want to clarify that I'm putting these on the
command button. Is that where I'm suppose to do this or should it be
someplace else.


Please post the names and code of all the relevant controls.
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #7  
Old May 10th, 2010, 04:41 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Mommybear
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default Clear Unbound Text box used as input parameter to query

I still can not get this working, can someone please help.

"Mommybear" wrote:

I've looked at everything I can find, tried all the suggestions but still
can't get this to work. I have a form that opens blank. You input your
parameter into an unbound text box then press a command button that performs
a requery of the database and returns the results in a continuous form. When
the results are returned, the parameter is listed as part of the detail in
the form so I want the parameter box to be cleared out and ready for the next
one.

My command on the Search button looks like this:

Private Sub SearchEPICode_Click()

Me.Requery

End Sub

I've tried adding Me!InputEPI = Null but nothing works. Am I adding it to
the wrong place.

  #8  
Old May 10th, 2010, 06:03 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Clear Unbound Text box used as input parameter to query

On Mon, 10 May 2010 08:41:02 -0700, Mommybear
wrote:

I still can not get this working, can someone please help.


"Doctor, I don't feel good, what should I take?"

As I asked on the 1st (and got no answer):

Please post your code and the names of the relevant controls.
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #9  
Old May 10th, 2010, 08:10 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Mommybear
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default Clear Unbound Text box used as input parameter to query

John, I thought I answered your question. I'm adding this code on the Search
command button, not the unbound text box. My unbound text box is "InputEPI"
and my search button is "SearchEPICode". This is what my command button
looks like:

Private Sub SearchEPICode_Click()

Me.Requery
Me.InputEPI = Null

End Sub



"John W. Vinson" wrote:

On Mon, 10 May 2010 08:41:02 -0700, Mommybear
wrote:

I still can not get this working, can someone please help.


"Doctor, I don't feel good, what should I take?"

As I asked on the 1st (and got no answer):

Please post your code and the names of the relevant controls.
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
.

  #10  
Old May 10th, 2010, 11:33 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Clear Unbound Text box used as input parameter to query

On Mon, 10 May 2010 12:10:01 -0700, Mommybear
wrote:

John, I thought I answered your question.


The Microsoft website has been losing a lot of posts... sorry for the lame
attempt at humor; I should have realized it was the web interface messing up
again!

I'm adding this code on the Search
command button, not the unbound text box. My unbound text box is "InputEPI"
and my search button is "SearchEPICode". This is what my command button
looks like:

Private Sub SearchEPICode_Click()

Me.Requery
Me.InputEPI = Null

End Sub


And it's not making InputEPI go blank? That's odd. Try adding a line

Me.Repaint

after the =Null line.
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.