A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » New Users
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Inventory & Barcode usage, how to auto search and open up entry dataafter scanning the code



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 21st, 2008, 07:09 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Min[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Inventory & Barcode usage, how to auto search and open up entry dataafter scanning the code

Hello,

I have a complex (to me) situation here, and I really need urgent help
because I would like to have it done as soon as possible. I have read
a book on the basic Access last 2 days, but it is not helping to
accomplish what I am trying to do. So here is what I would like to
do...

I need to create a database for inventory management (tracking
computer equipments in a building). I already have the database (with
about 3000 items) in Excel form. So.. the database already have all
the existing barcodes for all the equipments. Whenever I scan a
barcode (the probably will probably exist in the database already), I
would like it to open up the data entry with that barcode in and allow
me to update the new room location.

So.. it is basically.. as soon as barcode scanner scans a number in
that Barcode field, it will auto search the database and bring up the
entry form to allow me to update the new room location (if it is
changed), if there is no such a barcode, it will let me add a new
entry to the database.

What & How do I make Access to do this function?
What area of Access should I be looking into?

Any suggestion or guideline will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.


  #2  
Old December 21st, 2008, 10:51 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Wayne-I-M
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,674
Default Inventory & Barcode usage, how to auto search and open up entry da

Hi

If it was me I may write a small DLL file (add it to your references) and
use this to absord the bar code info - it's a very simple after update.

Not sure if you will find a DLL like this on google - doubt it, but it's
very simple but not part of access so you'll to code it yourself.

Best bget would be to contact the bar code scanner company you got it from
as they will almost certainly have the code already - it will change with
each scanner

good luck


--
Wayne
Trentino, Italia.



"Min" wrote:

Hello,

I have a complex (to me) situation here, and I really need urgent help
because I would like to have it done as soon as possible. I have read
a book on the basic Access last 2 days, but it is not helping to
accomplish what I am trying to do. So here is what I would like to
do...

I need to create a database for inventory management (tracking
computer equipments in a building). I already have the database (with
about 3000 items) in Excel form. So.. the database already have all
the existing barcodes for all the equipments. Whenever I scan a
barcode (the probably will probably exist in the database already), I
would like it to open up the data entry with that barcode in and allow
me to update the new room location.

So.. it is basically.. as soon as barcode scanner scans a number in
that Barcode field, it will auto search the database and bring up the
entry form to allow me to update the new room location (if it is
changed), if there is no such a barcode, it will let me add a new
entry to the database.

What & How do I make Access to do this function?
What area of Access should I be looking into?

Any suggestion or guideline will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.



  #3  
Old December 21st, 2008, 11:48 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Philip Herlihy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 292
Default Inventory & Barcode usage, how to auto search and open up entrydata after scanning the code

Min wrote:
Hello,

I have a complex (to me) situation here, and I really need urgent help
because I would like to have it done as soon as possible. I have read
a book on the basic Access last 2 days, but it is not helping to
accomplish what I am trying to do. So here is what I would like to
do...

I need to create a database for inventory management (tracking
computer equipments in a building). I already have the database (with
about 3000 items) in Excel form. So.. the database already have all
the existing barcodes for all the equipments. Whenever I scan a
barcode (the probably will probably exist in the database already), I
would like it to open up the data entry with that barcode in and allow
me to update the new room location.

So.. it is basically.. as soon as barcode scanner scans a number in
that Barcode field, it will auto search the database and bring up the
entry form to allow me to update the new room location (if it is
changed), if there is no such a barcode, it will let me add a new
entry to the database.

What & How do I make Access to do this function?
What area of Access should I be looking into?

Any suggestion or guideline will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.



That sounds like a natural application for Access (but an even more
natural application for a database on a PocketPC). I can't tell you how
to interface the barcode reader, but it must (I guess!) boil down to the
equivalent of typing a number somewhere. If you were typing a number
into a control (e.g "text box") on a form, you could pick up on one of
the many "events" (e.g. "After Update") and have the corresponding
"event procedure" (usually written in VBA, but you can use macros) run a
suitable data-entry form.

The key determinant here is what your barcode-reading software looks
like. If, as seems likely, it can trigger a function call, then there
will be a way of getting it to interface with Access VBA. How difficult
a job that is will depend on what barcode software you have, and maybe
your wider programming skills.

Phil, London
  #4  
Old December 21st, 2008, 01:37 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,354
Default Inventory & Barcode usage, how to auto search and open up entrydataafter scanning the code

On Sat, 20 Dec 2008 23:09:15 -0800, Min wrote:
I need to create a database for inventory management (tracking computer
equipments in a building). I already have the database (with about 3000
items) in Excel form. So.. the database already have all the existing
barcodes for all the equipments. Whenever I scan a barcode (the probably
will probably exist in the database already), I would like it to open up
the data entry with that barcode in and allow me to update the new room
location.

So.. it is basically.. as soon as barcode scanner scans a number in that
Barcode field, it will auto search the database and bring up the entry
form to allow me to update the new room location (if it is changed), if
there is no such a barcode, it will let me add a new entry to the
database.


Most bar-code scanners can be setup so that a "scan" is interpreted by
the PC the same as if the characters had been typed from the keyboard.
They also can be set up to automatically include a tab after each scan.

Given that, all you need to do is use the AfterUpdate event of a TextBox
on a form. When that control has focus you scan your bar-code and your
code does whatever you need it to do.

The code would be to apply a filter to either the existing form or to a
new one that is opened. Both of these are basic actions. If you have
never used Access they might seem "complex", but it's actually pretty
simple stuff.


--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com
  #5  
Old December 21st, 2008, 09:59 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
David W. Fenton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,373
Default Inventory & Barcode usage, how to auto search and open up entry data after scanning the code

Rick Brandt wrote in
:

Most bar-code scanners can be setup so that a "scan" is
interpreted by the PC the same as if the characters had been typed
from the keyboard. They also can be set up to automatically
include a tab after each scan.


Minor quibble: I think it's most common for them to automatically
send ENTER after the field scanning. This has the same effect of
departing the field and triggering the AfterUpdate event, but if you
wanted to trap for it somehow, you'd want to be sure you're trapping
for the right one for your particular scanning hardware.

--
David W. Fenton http://www.dfenton.com/
usenet at dfenton dot com http://www.dfenton.com/DFA/
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.