A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

value from combobox or user value



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 25th, 2008, 10:53 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
karmela
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default value from combobox or user value

Hi,

I'm starting to program some forms with combobox which value is criteria for
a query. This combobox is based on a table.
I want user to select one of the value from that table (this is ok) OR user
specified criteria (* or like "abc*").

Is that possible?

Thanks karmela
  #2  
Old April 25th, 2008, 04:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
KARL DEWEY
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10,767
Default value from combobox or user value

Is that possible?
Yes.
Had you posted your query SQL, form name, combobox name, and and textbox
user would enter thier data then I could have edited it for you.

Otherwise maybe you can decipher this --
WHERE [YourField] = [Forms]![YourFormName]![ComboBoxName] OR [YourField]
Like [Forms]![YourFormName]![TextBoxName] & "*"
--
KARL DEWEY
Build a little - Test a little


"karmela" wrote:

Hi,

I'm starting to program some forms with combobox which value is criteria for
a query. This combobox is based on a table.
I want user to select one of the value from that table (this is ok) OR user
specified criteria (* or like "abc*").

Is that possible?

Thanks karmela

  #3  
Old April 28th, 2008, 04:07 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
karmela
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default value from combobox or user value

Hi,

as I see, it means combobox for values from the table AND textbox for
entering user-defined values? I though about the property of combobox Limit
to List, so it should accept user entered value.
This [Forms]![YourFormName]![ComboBoxName] I have in criteria of the query
and the same with & "*" after it, but it does not function.

karmela

KARL DEWEY p*še:

Is that possible?

Yes.
Had you posted your query SQL, form name, combobox name, and and textbox
user would enter thier data then I could have edited it for you.

Otherwise maybe you can decipher this --
WHERE [YourField] = [Forms]![YourFormName]![ComboBoxName] OR [YourField]
Like [Forms]![YourFormName]![TextBoxName] & "*"
--
KARL DEWEY
Build a little - Test a little


"karmela" wrote:

Hi,

I'm starting to program some forms with combobox which value is criteria for
a query. This combobox is based on a table.
I want user to select one of the value from that table (this is ok) OR user
specified criteria (* or like "abc*").

Is that possible?

Thanks karmela

  #4  
Old April 28th, 2008, 05:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
KARL DEWEY
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10,767
Default value from combobox or user value

This [Forms]![YourFormName]![ComboBoxName] I have in criteria of the query
and the same with & "*" after it, but it does not function.

'does not function' tells me nothing. Is there an error message and if so
what is it?

Too many records, no records, wrong records?

Post your SQL statement.
--
KARL DEWEY
Build a little - Test a little


"karmela" wrote:

Hi,

as I see, it means combobox for values from the table AND textbox for
entering user-defined values? I though about the property of combobox Limit
to List, so it should accept user entered value.
This [Forms]![YourFormName]![ComboBoxName] I have in criteria of the query
and the same with & "*" after it, but it does not function.

karmela

KARL DEWEY p*še:

Is that possible?

Yes.
Had you posted your query SQL, form name, combobox name, and and textbox
user would enter thier data then I could have edited it for you.

Otherwise maybe you can decipher this --
WHERE [YourField] = [Forms]![YourFormName]![ComboBoxName] OR [YourField]
Like [Forms]![YourFormName]![TextBoxName] & "*"
--
KARL DEWEY
Build a little - Test a little


"karmela" wrote:

Hi,

I'm starting to program some forms with combobox which value is criteria for
a query. This combobox is based on a table.
I want user to select one of the value from that table (this is ok) OR user
specified criteria (* or like "abc*").

Is that possible?

Thanks karmela

  #5  
Old April 29th, 2008, 06:38 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
karmela
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default value from combobox or user value

Hi,
Im sorry - SQL of the query is quite long...
When I do not write anything to the combobox, there is error message
"Property not found", I think there should be some procedure on NotInList
property, but I have no idea, what to write .... I'm not really strong in it,
it's my first db.

Thanks a lot

karmela

SELECT faktury_dodavatel.Rok, faktury_dodavatel.[SAS č*slo dokladu],
faktury_dodavatel.[Č*slo dodavatele], Dodavatele.Dodavatel,
faktury_dodavatel.[Č*slo faktury], DateSerial(Left(faktury_dodavatel![Datum
faktury],4),Mid(faktury_dodavatel![Datum
faktury],5,2),Right(faktury_dodavatel![Datum faktury],2)) AS [Datum faktury],
faktury_dodavatel.[SAS č*slo d*lu], faktury_dodavatel.[Č*slo d*lu],
faktury_dodavatel.[Počet ks], Round((faktury_dodavatel![Hodnota
faktury]/faktury_dodavatel![Počet ks])*Dimenze!Dimenze_ks,2) AS [Cena na
faktuře], CStr(faktury_dodavatel![Hodnota faktury]) AS [Hodnota faktury],
Round(([Dorovnaná hodnota]/faktury_dodavatel![Počet
ks])*Dimenze!Dimenze_ks,2) AS [Cena dorovnaná],
CStr(IIf((dorovnani_dodavatel![Hodnota faktury nová]) Is
Null,faktury_dodavatel![Hodnota faktury],dorovnani_dodavatel![Hodnota faktury
nová])) AS [Dorovnaná hodnota], dorovnani_dodavatel.[Datum dorovnani],
cenik_nakup.[A cena], cenik_nakup.MTZ, cenik_nakup.LN,
cenik_nakup.Dimenze_ks, cenik_nakup.Měna, cenik_nakup.[Platnost od],
cenik_nakup.[Platnost do], CStr(Round(cenik_nakup![A
cena]+cenik_nakup!MTZ+cenik_nakup!LN+cenik_nakup!LS,2)) AS [Součet ceny],
Round(([Cena faktury]/faktury_dodavatel![Počet ks])*cenik_nakup!Dimenze_ks,2)
AS [Nová cena], Round(IIf(cenik_nakup![A cena] Is Null,0,(cenik_nakup![A
cena]+cenik_nakup!MTZ+cenik_nakup!LN)*faktury_dodavatel ![Počet
ks]/cenik_nakup!Dimenze_ks),2) AS [Cena faktury], Round([Dorovnaná
hodnota]-[Cena faktury],2) AS Rozd*l,
DateSerial(Left(faktury_dodavatel![Datum
př*jmu],4),Mid(faktury_dodavatel![Datum
př*jmu],5,2),Right(faktury_dodavatel![Datum př*jmu],2)) AS [Datum př*jmu]
FROM Dimenze INNER JOIN (Dodavatele INNER JOIN (cenik_nakup RIGHT JOIN
(faktury_dodavatel LEFT JOIN dorovnani_dodavatel ON (faktury_dodavatel.[Počet
ks] = dorovnani_dodavatel.[Počet ks]) AND (faktury_dodavatel.[SAS č*slo
dokladu] = dorovnani_dodavatel.[SAS č*slo dokladu]) AND
(faktury_dodavatel.Rok = dorovnani_dodavatel.Rok) AND
(faktury_dodavatel.[Č*slo d*lu] = dorovnani_dodavatel.[Č*slo d*lu])) ON
cenik_nakup.D*l = faktury_dodavatel.[Č*slo d*lu]) ON Dodavatele.[Č*slo
dodavatele] = faktury_dodavatel.[Č*slo dodavatele]) ON Dimenze.Dimenze =
faktury_dodavatel.Dimenze

WHERE (((faktury_dodavatel.[Č*slo
dodavatele])=[Forms]![frm_Dodavatel]![Dodavatel] & "*")
AND ((DateSerial(Left([faktury_dodavatel]![Datum
faktury],4),Mid([faktury_dodavatel]![Datum
faktury],5,2),Right([faktury_dodavatel]![Datum
faktury],2)))=[cenik_nakup]![Platnost od] And
(DateSerial(Left([faktury_dodavatel]![Datum
faktury],4),Mid([faktury_dodavatel]![Datum
faktury],5,2),Right([faktury_dodavatel]![Datum
faktury],2)))=[cenik_nakup].[Platnost do])) OR (((cenik_nakup.[A cena]) Is
Null));


"KARL DEWEY" wrote:

This [Forms]![YourFormName]![ComboBoxName] I have in criteria of the query

and the same with & "*" after it, but it does not function.

'does not function' tells me nothing. Is there an error message and if so
what is it?

Too many records, no records, wrong records?

Post your SQL statement.
--
KARL DEWEY
Build a little - Test a little


"karmela" wrote:

Hi,

as I see, it means combobox for values from the table AND textbox for
entering user-defined values? I though about the property of combobox Limit
to List, so it should accept user entered value.
This [Forms]![YourFormName]![ComboBoxName] I have in criteria of the query
and the same with & "*" after it, but it does not function.

karmela

KARL DEWEY p*še:

Is that possible?
Yes.
Had you posted your query SQL, form name, combobox name, and and textbox
user would enter thier data then I could have edited it for you.

Otherwise maybe you can decipher this --
WHERE [YourField] = [Forms]![YourFormName]![ComboBoxName] OR [YourField]
Like [Forms]![YourFormName]![TextBoxName] & "*"
--
KARL DEWEY
Build a little - Test a little


"karmela" wrote:

Hi,

I'm starting to program some forms with combobox which value is criteria for
a query. This combobox is based on a table.
I want user to select one of the value from that table (this is ok) OR user
specified criteria (* or like "abc*").

Is that possible?

Thanks karmela

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.