A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Setting Up & Running Reports
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Refering to SubReport HasData



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 14th, 2005, 01:33 PM
Derek Brown
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Refering to SubReport HasData

Hi all

am using:
If MySubReport.Report.HasData Then
ReportHeaderTectBox.Visible = False
ReportHeader0.Height = 0
End If
To refer to the subforms HasData property. But I am getting real strange
responce. All I am trying to do is make "ReportHeader" go away when sub has
data and visible again when not.

Is this correct format and if so what else could be wrong?

Thank you


  #2  
Old November 14th, 2005, 01:53 PM
John Spencer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Refering to SubReport HasData

Strange Response? What do you mean by that.

Trouble shooting suggestion. Try leaving ReportHeader0.Height = 0 out of
the code and see what happens.
Also, I would expect that you want to set the controls visibility to True if
HasData is False and False if HasData is True. You could use something like
the following to do that.

ReportHeaderTectBox.Visible = Not(MySubReport.Report.HasData )

Where are you executing this code snippet?

"Derek Brown" wrote in message
...
Hi all

am using:
If MySubReport.Report.HasData Then
ReportHeaderTectBox.Visible = False
ReportHeader0.Height = 0
End If
To refer to the subforms HasData property. But I am getting real strange
responce. All I am trying to do is make "ReportHeader" go away when sub
has data and visible again when not.

Is this correct format and if so what else could be wrong?

Thank you



  #3  
Old November 14th, 2005, 03:56 PM
Larry Linson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Refering to SubReport HasData

Is it the Report Header of the main Report or the Report Header of the
Report embedded in the Subreport Control that you want to make invisible? If
the latter, you need to qualify the reference. I am not certain what you are
trying to do by setting the Height to 0. If you could clarify what you are
trying to accomplish rather than showing the way you thought you were going
to implement it, someone might have a useful suggestion.

Larry Linson
Microsoft Access MVP



"Derek Brown" wrote in message
...
Hi all

am using:
If MySubReport.Report.HasData Then
ReportHeaderTectBox.Visible = False
ReportHeader0.Height = 0
End If
To refer to the subforms HasData property. But I am getting real strange
responce. All I am trying to do is make "ReportHeader" go away when sub
has data and visible again when not.

Is this correct format and if so what else could be wrong?

Thank you



  #4  
Old November 14th, 2005, 04:20 PM
Derek Brown
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Refering to SubReport HasData


Hi John

The reason for the reverse of the obvious is as follows:
Duane Hookom gave me a brilliant suggestion of how to get a day and date
heading for a diary that lists appointments. But in true diary fassion you
want a report that shows days where no appointments exist, if only so you
can book available free days. As you know reports only print available
records. Duane's idea is that you design a report based on a static table
that just has one field with values 1 - 31 that you add to a predifined date
ie beginning of current month and in the detail you drop a report that shows
any appointments on the day calculated from the 1-31 + the start date
report. Works brilliant except that when you try to group the appointments.
If you group the main report heading with the "with first detail" Access
treats the whole subreport as the first detail, which is no problem if only
one appointment for that day exists but when there are 5 for example the
grouping forces the whole group onto the next page leaving large areas of
white space. To group correctly I need to have the heading in the subreport
unless there are no appointments and then I need to show a heading on the
main report. God it's complicated but I will not be happy until it's right.

The code could run from the subreport on NoData or the main report on
Subreport HasData.

If you can solve this I would be most greatfull.

"John Spencer" wrote in message
...
Strange Response? What do you mean by that.

Trouble shooting suggestion. Try leaving ReportHeader0.Height = 0 out of
the code and see what happens.
Also, I would expect that you want to set the controls visibility to True
if HasData is False and False if HasData is True. You could use something
like the following to do that.

ReportHeaderTectBox.Visible = Not(MySubReport.Report.HasData )

Where are you executing this code snippet?

"Derek Brown" wrote in message
...
Hi all

am using:
If MySubReport.Report.HasData Then
ReportHeaderTectBox.Visible = False
ReportHeader0.Height = 0
End If
To refer to the subforms HasData property. But I am getting real strange
responce. All I am trying to do is make "ReportHeader" go away when sub
has data and visible again when not.

Is this correct format and if so what else could be wrong?

Thank you





  #5  
Old November 14th, 2005, 04:45 PM
Derek Brown
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Refering to SubReport HasData

Thanks Larry

The report header I am trying to hide is on the main form. When the
subreport has data the heading of the subreport needs to be visible. If
subreport has no data then the heading of the main report needs to be
visible. The reason for the heading of the main report height setting of 0
is to remove the empty space left by the invisible control on the main form.
allowing the subreport to move to the top of the page

On the main form and subform each heading only shows the day and date. The
problem is I need to show one or the other depending on wether the subreport
has or has not got data.

"Larry Linson" wrote in message
...
Is it the Report Header of the main Report or the Report Header of the
Report embedded in the Subreport Control that you want to make invisible?
If the latter, you need to qualify the reference. I am not certain what
you are trying to do by setting the Height to 0. If you could clarify what
you are trying to accomplish rather than showing the way you thought you
were going to implement it, someone might have a useful suggestion.

Larry Linson
Microsoft Access MVP



"Derek Brown" wrote in message
...
Hi all

am using:
If MySubReport.Report.HasData Then
ReportHeaderTectBox.Visible = False
ReportHeader0.Height = 0
End If
To refer to the subforms HasData property. But I am getting real strange
responce. All I am trying to do is make "ReportHeader" go away when sub
has data and visible again when not.

Is this correct format and if so what else could be wrong?

Thank you





 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Parameterizing subreports Jack Setting Up & Running Reports 8 October 21st, 2005 12:00 PM
Testing subreport for HasData WB Setting Up & Running Reports 1 April 15th, 2005 11:49 PM
repeating records in a subreport Paul James Setting Up & Running Reports 2 February 2nd, 2005 06:11 PM
SubReport No Data printing problem Tony_VBACoder Setting Up & Running Reports 1 August 9th, 2004 10:10 PM
Problems totalling subreport data on main report (A-2002) Marshall Barton Setting Up & Running Reports 0 June 23rd, 2004 08:01 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.