A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » New Users
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Filters on Forms



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 10th, 2004, 07:41 PM
Bobby
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Filters on Forms

Hi - I have a form that we use to enter issues into. There are multiple fields for status, classification, module, etc... how can I create a form/view that would allow me to filter on one or multiple of these fields and pull in just those records. We are on Access 2003 and Not even sure how to start. I have tried using the filters however becuase one is an auto number.. it's not allowing it.
  #2  
Old May 11th, 2004, 11:58 AM
MacDermott
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Filters on Forms

Click on the Filter By Form button on your toolbar.
The form will look almost the same, but you can type filter data into any
control you like.
Then click the Filter button on the toolbar.
Your form should appear with the filtered data.
Click the Filter button again to remove the filter.
Autonumbers should not be a problem.

HTH
- Turtle

"Bobby" wrote in message
...
Hi - I have a form that we use to enter issues into. There are multiple

fields for status, classification, module, etc... how can I create a
form/view that would allow me to filter on one or multiple of these fields
and pull in just those records. We are on Access 2003 and Not even sure how
to start. I have tried using the filters however becuase one is an auto
number.. it's not allowing it.


  #3  
Old May 11th, 2004, 03:26 PM
Bobby
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Filters on Forms

Thanks MacDermott...I tried ,but it doesn't seem to want to work for my application. I guess I should say that after I sent the first note I put a form header together with the different fields to search on. Then I built a subform that has the data that I would need... one issue I have is that I can have any combination of filled in for 8 combo boxes.. is there any way to write code or something to put a wildcard on the fields that are not populated in the form header and then run a query based on all eight values to only pull those records that are pertinent? thx
  #4  
Old May 11th, 2004, 09:18 PM
dandgard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Filters on Forms


There are several different methods you can use to filter your records
coming in to a form.

If you have a field in the form that you wish to use to filter by then
create an event procedure on the after update event of that control.

Inside the code create a Select statement....

Dim strSel as String
strSel = "Select * from table where fieldname = '" & filtertext & "'"
Me.Recordsource = strSel

the form will automatically update with the new recordsource.


------------------------------------------------
~~ Message posted from http://www.ExcelTip.com/
~~View and post usenet messages directly from http://www.ExcelForum.com/

  #5  
Old May 11th, 2004, 09:41 PM
MacDermott
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Filters on Forms

I'm not sure why you're using a header AND a subform -
couldn't you just show your main form in Continuous forms view?

As for your "wildcard" question, take a look at this page for some ideas:
http://www.mvps.org/access/queries/qry0001.htm

HTH
- Turtle

"Bobby" wrote in message
...
Thanks MacDermott...I tried ,but it doesn't seem to want to work for my

application. I guess I should say that after I sent the first note I put a
form header together with the different fields to search on. Then I built a
subform that has the data that I would need... one issue I have is that I
can have any combination of filled in for 8 combo boxes.. is there any way
to write code or something to put a wildcard on the fields that are not
populated in the form header and then run a query based on all eight values
to only pull those records that are pertinent? thx


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.