A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Any way to stop the grey background on unbound Yes/No checkbox?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 26th, 2004, 12:37 AM
Richard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Any way to stop the grey background on unbound Yes/No checkbox?

I have a report that prints where I don't track a Yes/No in the database.
However, once the report is printed, I want these few unbound checkboxes to
be there for the user to check if needed. Is there a way for these unbound
boxes to not be shaded grey inside them?

Thanks,

Richard
  #2  
Old October 26th, 2004, 12:58 AM
Tom Lake
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Richard" wrote in message
...
I have a report that prints where I don't track a Yes/No in the database.
However, once the report is printed, I want these few unbound checkboxes
to
be there for the user to check if needed. Is there a way for these
unbound
boxes to not be shaded grey inside them?


Make the default value be False. The gray means Null is stored there before
a true or false value is put in.

Tom Lake


  #3  
Old October 26th, 2004, 01:21 AM
Richard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Tom,

thanks. That's exactly what I needed.

One other question if you don't mind. I have a text field with a two-item
list; "In-House" and "Out of House". Is there an expression where I can have
a specific checkbox "checked" if this one field is set to "Out of house" only?

"Tom Lake" wrote:

"Richard" wrote in message
...
I have a report that prints where I don't track a Yes/No in the database.
However, once the report is printed, I want these few unbound checkboxes
to
be there for the user to check if needed. Is there a way for these
unbound
boxes to not be shaded grey inside them?


Make the default value be False. The gray means Null is stored there before
a true or false value is put in.

Tom Lake



  #4  
Old October 26th, 2004, 01:48 AM
Tom Lake
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Tom,

thanks. That's exactly what I needed.

One other question if you don't mind. I have a text field with a two-item
list; "In-House" and "Out of House". Is there an expression where I can
have
a specific checkbox "checked" if this one field is set to "Out of house"
only?


In the AfterUpdate property of the text box, you could add code:

If Me!mytextboxname = "Out of House" Then
Me!mycheckboxname = True
Else
Me!mycheckboxname = False
End If

Of course change "mytextboxname" and "mycheckboxname" to the names of your
controls.

Tom Lake


  #5  
Old October 27th, 2004, 06:19 PM
Richard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


awesome. thanks tom!!

Richard

"Tom Lake" wrote:

Tom,

thanks. That's exactly what I needed.

One other question if you don't mind. I have a text field with a two-item
list; "In-House" and "Out of House". Is there an expression where I can
have
a specific checkbox "checked" if this one field is set to "Out of house"
only?


In the AfterUpdate property of the text box, you could add code:

If Me!mytextboxname = "Out of House" Then
Me!mycheckboxname = True
Else
Me!mycheckboxname = False
End If

Of course change "mytextboxname" and "mycheckboxname" to the names of your
controls.

Tom Lake



  #6  
Old October 27th, 2004, 06:29 PM
Richard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Oops, One other question Tom.

I tried to enter the code. and I placed it in the AfterUpdate of the text
box. However, the checkbox is unbound, and only on the report.

After I added the code in my form, and then ran the report, the check box
was still empty. And I cannot add any events under that check box's property
since its unbound correct?

"Tom Lake" wrote:

Tom,

thanks. That's exactly what I needed.

One other question if you don't mind. I have a text field with a two-item
list; "In-House" and "Out of House". Is there an expression where I can
have
a specific checkbox "checked" if this one field is set to "Out of house"
only?


In the AfterUpdate property of the text box, you could add code:

If Me!mytextboxname = "Out of House" Then
Me!mycheckboxname = True
Else
Me!mycheckboxname = False
End If

Of course change "mytextboxname" and "mycheckboxname" to the names of your
controls.

Tom Lake



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yes/No boxes in forms Stephen Glynn New Users 14 May 30th, 2004 07:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.