A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

bound form and updates



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 11th, 2008, 09:43 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
85ascMcLaren
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 12
Default bound form and updates

I normally use access like VB and use unbound forms, however I am in a
situation where it would be real quick and dirty to create a bound form for
my application. I need someone to explain something to me. I don't
understand the use of the command button for saving a record when everytime I
change anything on a field in a bound form, it is instantly updated in the
database which is what I DO NOT want. How can I make it so the user has to
click on the save button to save the record without the fields automatically
getting updated in the database while using the bound form....

Thanks,
Jason

  #2  
Old February 11th, 2008, 10:11 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Graham R Seach
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 261
Default bound form and updates

Jason,

Yes, that's true; Access creates/updates a record whenever you close the
form or navigate to another record (assuming all pre-conditions exist).

To prevent that, you must disable the Close button (the CloseButton
property), disable auto navigation (the NavigationButtons property), and
then provide your own Close button and navigation buttons (if you use them).
Then write code to check the form's Dirty property, and if dirty, confirm
whether the user wants to create/update the record or Undo/Cancel it.

Regards,
Graham R Seach
Microsoft Access MVP
Sydney, Australia


"85ascMcLaren" wrote in message
...
I normally use access like VB and use unbound forms, however I am in a
situation where it would be real quick and dirty to create a bound form
for
my application. I need someone to explain something to me. I don't
understand the use of the command button for saving a record when
everytime I
change anything on a field in a bound form, it is instantly updated in the
database which is what I DO NOT want. How can I make it so the user has
to
click on the save button to save the record without the fields
automatically
getting updated in the database while using the bound form....

Thanks,
Jason



  #3  
Old February 12th, 2008, 12:01 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
85ascMcLaren
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 12
Default bound form and updates

You mention that it updates when you close the form or move to the next
record, but it is updating on me even when I just move to another field in
the same record. I wouldn't mind if it updates on the next record or on a
close, but on each field is a little ridiculous. Am I not seeing something
correct here....?

Thanks,
Jason


"Graham R Seach" wrote:

Jason,

Yes, that's true; Access creates/updates a record whenever you close the
form or navigate to another record (assuming all pre-conditions exist).

To prevent that, you must disable the Close button (the CloseButton
property), disable auto navigation (the NavigationButtons property), and
then provide your own Close button and navigation buttons (if you use them).
Then write code to check the form's Dirty property, and if dirty, confirm
whether the user wants to create/update the record or Undo/Cancel it.

Regards,
Graham R Seach
Microsoft Access MVP
Sydney, Australia


"85ascMcLaren" wrote in message
...
I normally use access like VB and use unbound forms, however I am in a
situation where it would be real quick and dirty to create a bound form
for
my application. I need someone to explain something to me. I don't
understand the use of the command button for saving a record when
everytime I
change anything on a field in a bound form, it is instantly updated in the
database which is what I DO NOT want. How can I make it so the user has
to
click on the save button to save the record without the fields
automatically
getting updated in the database while using the bound form....

Thanks,
Jason




  #4  
Old February 12th, 2008, 12:10 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,354
Default bound form and updates

85ascMcLaren wrote:
You mention that it updates when you close the form or move to the
next record, but it is updating on me even when I just move to
another field in the same record. I wouldn't mind if it updates on
the next record or on a close, but on each field is a little
ridiculous. Am I not seeing something correct here....?


Either a) what you think is happening is not happening or b) you have writteen
code or macros to make it happen.

By default, there is nothing about an Access form that would commit the record
every time you change fields. In fact on many forms that would cause an error
because some required fields hadn't been populated yet.

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #5  
Old February 12th, 2008, 01:07 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Graham R Seach
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 261
Default bound form and updates

Jason,

In addition to what Rick has said, if you have the primary key field visible
(and it is an Autonumber type), it may appear that the record has been saved
because you'll see the number that has been reserved for it. But as soon as
you start editing a record, a transaction is opened for it; the record will
not be saved until you close the form, move to another record, or move to a
subform.

Is it possible that the other "field" is actually sitting on a subform?

Regards,
Graham R Seach
Microsoft Access MVP
Sydney, Australia


"85ascMcLaren" wrote in message
...
You mention that it updates when you close the form or move to the next
record, but it is updating on me even when I just move to another field in
the same record. I wouldn't mind if it updates on the next record or on a
close, but on each field is a little ridiculous. Am I not seeing
something
correct here....?

Thanks,
Jason


"Graham R Seach" wrote:

Jason,

Yes, that's true; Access creates/updates a record whenever you close the
form or navigate to another record (assuming all pre-conditions exist).

To prevent that, you must disable the Close button (the CloseButton
property), disable auto navigation (the NavigationButtons property), and
then provide your own Close button and navigation buttons (if you use
them).
Then write code to check the form's Dirty property, and if dirty, confirm
whether the user wants to create/update the record or Undo/Cancel it.

Regards,
Graham R Seach
Microsoft Access MVP
Sydney, Australia


"85ascMcLaren" wrote in message
...
I normally use access like VB and use unbound forms, however I am in a
situation where it would be real quick and dirty to create a bound form
for
my application. I need someone to explain something to me. I don't
understand the use of the command button for saving a record when
everytime I
change anything on a field in a bound form, it is instantly updated in
the
database which is what I DO NOT want. How can I make it so the user
has
to
click on the save button to save the record without the fields
automatically
getting updated in the database while using the bound form....

Thanks,
Jason






  #6  
Old February 12th, 2008, 01:10 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
85ascMcLaren
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 12
Default bound form and updates

You are probably correct. I think I have a combo box controlling the display
of the records, so when you choose another combo box field, it is like moving
to another record which automatically updates the record. What can I do to
stop the update if the user selects another selection from the combo list ?
Something in the Form's dirty property maybe ?

Thanks,
Jason


"Rick Brandt" wrote:

85ascMcLaren wrote:
You mention that it updates when you close the form or move to the
next record, but it is updating on me even when I just move to
another field in the same record. I wouldn't mind if it updates on
the next record or on a close, but on each field is a little
ridiculous. Am I not seeing something correct here....?


Either a) what you think is happening is not happening or b) you have writteen
code or macros to make it happen.

By default, there is nothing about an Access form that would commit the record
every time you change fields. In fact on many forms that would cause an error
because some required fields hadn't been populated yet.

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com



  #7  
Old February 12th, 2008, 12:23 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,354
Default bound form and updates

85ascMcLaren wrote:
You are probably correct. I think I have a combo box controlling the
display of the records, so when you choose another combo box field,
it is like moving to another record which automatically updates the
record. What can I do to stop the update if the user selects another
selection from the combo list ? Something in the Form's dirty
property maybe ?


Exactly how is it "controlling the display of records"? If you have added a
ComboBox that navigates the form then it is not "like moving to another
recoord". It IS moving to another record. The user should not mess with that
control until moving to a different record is what they want to have happen.
This is no different than entering some data and then pressing one of the
navigation buttons. The user simply has to know how the form works and do
things correctly.

Have you clearly indicated that the ComboBox is for navigating and not for data
entry? ComboBoxes used for navigating should not be bound to any field. Is
yours unbound?

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.