A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Dirk Goldgar or someone familiar with dev-ashish



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 6th, 2008, 03:02 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
misschanda via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 111
Default Dirk Goldgar or someone familiar with dev-ashish

thanks for your response to my earlier post:

http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...37047de6654uwe


I am still not able to use the export option command on this dev-ashish
search form..

so, how exactly do i get it to show me an error message..

thanks
misschanda

--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200805/1

  #2  
Old May 7th, 2008, 04:52 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Steve Sanford
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 190
Default Dirk Goldgar or someone familiar with dev-ashish



In "Private Sub cmdExport_Click()", find this section of the code:

'----snip-------
Label16.Caption = "Search Results"
cmdExport.Tag = "Choose"
lstResult.ColumnWidths = ""
If Me.chkAutoBuildSQL = True Then Call sBuildSQL
End Select
ExitHe
Exit Sub
ErrHandler:
If Err = 2448 Then Resume Next
Resume ExitHere
End Sub


Change the ErrHandler to:
'-----snip------
ErrHandler:

' ------ display errors ------
MsgBox Err.Number & " - " & Err.Description
'------------------------------

If Err = 2448 Then Resume Next
Resume ExitHere
End Sub


NOTE: this will display all errors for *this Sub only*

Note2: snip shows I cut code because I didn't need all of it


HTH
--
Steve S
--------------------------------
"Veni, Vidi, Velcro"
(I came; I saw; I stuck around.)


"misschanda via AccessMonster.com" wrote:

thanks for your response to my earlier post:

http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...37047de6654uwe


I am still not able to use the export option command on this dev-ashish
search form..

so, how exactly do i get it to show me an error message..

thanks
misschanda

--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200805/1


  #3  
Old May 7th, 2008, 06:11 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
misschanda via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 111
Default Dirk Goldgar or someone familiar with dev-ashish

Thanks Steve for your reply.. However, I am still not able to see the file. I
ran a search on my computer and the file name showed as test4.xls, size: 1kb,
type: shortcut. when i then click on the file it says: Windows is searching
for "test4.xls" To locate click browse.. And after the searching it says
"The item test4.xls that this shortcut refers to has been changed or moved so
this shortcut will no longer work properly. Do you want to delete this
shortcut?"

Steve, where than is the file?

Thanks,
misschanda

Steve Sanford wrote:
In "Private Sub cmdExport_Click()", find this section of the code:

'----snip-------
Label16.Caption = "Search Results"
cmdExport.Tag = "Choose"
lstResult.ColumnWidths = ""
If Me.chkAutoBuildSQL = True Then Call sBuildSQL
End Select
ExitHe
Exit Sub
ErrHandler:
If Err = 2448 Then Resume Next
Resume ExitHere
End Sub

Change the ErrHandler to:
'-----snip------
ErrHandler:

' ------ display errors ------
MsgBox Err.Number & " - " & Err.Description
'------------------------------

If Err = 2448 Then Resume Next
Resume ExitHere
End Sub

NOTE: this will display all errors for *this Sub only*

Note2: snip shows I cut code because I didn't need all of it

HTH
thanks for your response to my earlier post:

[quoted text clipped - 7 lines]
thanks
misschanda


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200805/1

  #4  
Old May 10th, 2008, 03:58 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Steve Sanford
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 190
Default Dirk Goldgar or someone familiar with dev-ashish

I downloaded the zip file from "The Access Web" and added a table. I used the
search form to create a query, then clicked the EXPORT button.

It first wanted to know what format to save the query data. I selected
EXCEL4 then clicked EXPORT again (the only button enabled).

I clicked YES for "Are you sure" dialog box.

A selected a folder to save the excel file in and clicked SAVE.

I closed the Access mdb, opened the folder (My Documents) where the excel
file was saved. There it was!! And it opened in Excel2K...

Next I copied you posted code and compared it to the code I downloaded. It
is the same.


I don't know why you are not finding the file.....

Try it again; when the SAVE dialog box appears, select DESKTOP from the
dropdown as the location to save the file.

HTH
--
Steve S
--------------------------------
"Veni, Vidi, Velcro"
(I came; I saw; I stuck around.)


"misschanda via AccessMonster.com" wrote:

Thanks Steve for your reply.. However, I am still not able to see the file. I
ran a search on my computer and the file name showed as test4.xls, size: 1kb,
type: shortcut. when i then click on the file it says: Windows is searching
for "test4.xls" To locate click browse.. And after the searching it says
"The item test4.xls that this shortcut refers to has been changed or moved so
this shortcut will no longer work properly. Do you want to delete this
shortcut?"

Steve, where than is the file?

Thanks,
misschanda

Steve Sanford wrote:
In "Private Sub cmdExport_Click()", find this section of the code:

'----snip-------
Label16.Caption = "Search Results"
cmdExport.Tag = "Choose"
lstResult.ColumnWidths = ""
If Me.chkAutoBuildSQL = True Then Call sBuildSQL
End Select
ExitHe
Exit Sub
ErrHandler:
If Err = 2448 Then Resume Next
Resume ExitHere
End Sub

Change the ErrHandler to:
'-----snip------
ErrHandler:

' ------ display errors ------
MsgBox Err.Number & " - " & Err.Description
'------------------------------

If Err = 2448 Then Resume Next
Resume ExitHere
End Sub

NOTE: this will display all errors for *this Sub only*

Note2: snip shows I cut code because I didn't need all of it

HTH
thanks for your response to my earlier post:

[quoted text clipped - 7 lines]
thanks
misschanda


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200805/1


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.