A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Textbox Expansion



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 12th, 2005, 04:40 PM
-MK-
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Textbox Expansion

Hi there,
I have a command button, and when the user clicks the command button a text
box is automatically added to the form. If the user clicks this button again,
another text box is added below the one previously added.

Is it possible to do this without me creating infinite textboxes prior to
the runtime of the form?

Thanks
  #2  
Old August 12th, 2005, 04:59 PM
-MK-
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I gave this a shot, but didnt work.

Dim ctlName As Control

'This doesnt seem to work in Access
Set ctlName = frmDIRUpdate.Controls.Add("VB.TextBox", "txtAction",
frmDIRUpdate)

ctlName.Visible = True

ctlName.Top = txtActions.Top + txtActions.Height

"-MK-" wrote:

Hi there,
I have a command button, and when the user clicks the command button a text
box is automatically added to the form. If the user clicks this button again,
another text box is added below the one previously added.

Is it possible to do this without me creating infinite textboxes prior to
the runtime of the form?

Thanks

  #3  
Old August 12th, 2005, 05:05 PM
Rob
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Why is there a need to create the textboxes?
Is it possible to use a subform, continous datasheet and allow the user to
data-entry.

--
FMS Professional Solutions Group
http://www.fmsinc.com/consulting

Software Tools for .NET, SQL Server, Visual Basic & Access
http://www.fmsinc.com

FMS Advanced Systems Group
http://www.fmsasg.com/


"-MK-" wrote in message
...
Hi there,
I have a command button, and when the user clicks the command button a
text
box is automatically added to the form. If the user clicks this button
again,
another text box is added below the one previously added.

Is it possible to do this without me creating infinite textboxes prior to
the runtime of the form?

Thanks



  #4  
Old August 12th, 2005, 06:08 PM
-MK-
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The texboxes are used to store comments, and in a lot of the cases, multiple
comments are needed. But there isnt a need to have more than one "comment"
box active, therefore, if the user clicks the button (next comment...for
example) then another textbox(used for comment entry) is made.

Cheers

"Rob" wrote:

Why is there a need to create the textboxes?
Is it possible to use a subform, continous datasheet and allow the user to
data-entry.

--
FMS Professional Solutions Group
http://www.fmsinc.com/consulting

Software Tools for .NET, SQL Server, Visual Basic & Access
http://www.fmsinc.com

FMS Advanced Systems Group
http://www.fmsasg.com/


"-MK-" wrote in message
...
Hi there,
I have a command button, and when the user clicks the command button a
text
box is automatically added to the form. If the user clicks this button
again,
another text box is added below the one previously added.

Is it possible to do this without me creating infinite textboxes prior to
the runtime of the form?

Thanks




  #5  
Old August 12th, 2005, 06:17 PM
Rob
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That is the beauty of continous subforms, they allow easy input without
worrying about screen real estate. Take a look at the sample databases that
come with Access to see how the subforms can work for you.

--
FMS Professional Solutions Group
http://www.fmsinc.com/consulting

Software Tools for .NET, SQL Server, Visual Basic & Access
http://www.fmsinc.com

FMS Advanced Systems Group
http://www.fmsasg.com/


"-MK-" wrote in message
...
The texboxes are used to store comments, and in a lot of the cases,
multiple
comments are needed. But there isnt a need to have more than one "comment"
box active, therefore, if the user clicks the button (next comment...for
example) then another textbox(used for comment entry) is made.

Cheers

"Rob" wrote:

Why is there a need to create the textboxes?
Is it possible to use a subform, continous datasheet and allow the user
to
data-entry.

--
FMS Professional Solutions Group
http://www.fmsinc.com/consulting

Software Tools for .NET, SQL Server, Visual Basic & Access
http://www.fmsinc.com

FMS Advanced Systems Group
http://www.fmsasg.com/


"-MK-" wrote in message
...
Hi there,
I have a command button, and when the user clicks the command button a
text
box is automatically added to the form. If the user clicks this button
again,
another text box is added below the one previously added.

Is it possible to do this without me creating infinite textboxes prior
to
the runtime of the form?

Thanks






  #6  
Old August 12th, 2005, 06:48 PM
-MK-
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hey Rob,
Any chance you could go into more detail as to how I could make a form that
would supply the user with X number of textboxes (after the button is
clicked, a textbox would be shown).

Thanks again.
-MK-

"Rob" wrote:

That is the beauty of continous subforms, they allow easy input without
worrying about screen real estate. Take a look at the sample databases that
come with Access to see how the subforms can work for you.

--
FMS Professional Solutions Group
http://www.fmsinc.com/consulting

Software Tools for .NET, SQL Server, Visual Basic & Access
http://www.fmsinc.com

FMS Advanced Systems Group
http://www.fmsasg.com/


"-MK-" wrote in message
...
The texboxes are used to store comments, and in a lot of the cases,
multiple
comments are needed. But there isnt a need to have more than one "comment"
box active, therefore, if the user clicks the button (next comment...for
example) then another textbox(used for comment entry) is made.

Cheers

"Rob" wrote:

Why is there a need to create the textboxes?
Is it possible to use a subform, continous datasheet and allow the user
to
data-entry.

--
FMS Professional Solutions Group
http://www.fmsinc.com/consulting

Software Tools for .NET, SQL Server, Visual Basic & Access
http://www.fmsinc.com

FMS Advanced Systems Group
http://www.fmsasg.com/


"-MK-" wrote in message
...
Hi there,
I have a command button, and when the user clicks the command button a
text
box is automatically added to the form. If the user clicks this button
again,
another text box is added below the one previously added.

Is it possible to do this without me creating infinite textboxes prior
to
the runtime of the form?

Thanks






 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
textbox scrollbar disappears Yaniv General Discussion 1 June 20th, 2005 11:31 PM
Textbox autofill Marc Claasen General Discussion 0 May 26th, 2005 01:48 PM
Textbox, web browser control, and Unicode (got cutoff) Mark Johnson General Discussion 0 February 12th, 2005 02:08 AM
textbox used as report parameter jh Setting Up & Running Reports 4 October 21st, 2004 06:59 PM
textbox formatting problem jeffrey c Powerpoint 4 August 21st, 2004 10:09 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.