OfficeFrustration

OfficeFrustration (http://www.officefrustration.com/index.php)
-   Tables (http://www.officefrustration.com/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   copying to multiple rows (http://www.officefrustration.com/showthread.php?t=1111066)

wiersma7[_2_] April 28th, 2010 06:27 PM

copying to multiple rows
 
Quite often I need to copy several rows of text to several rows of a table.
I copy the rows that I want to paste into the tables, highlight the rows I
want to copy to and click 'paste' or 'paste special/unformatted text' or
'paste special/formatted text'. Only the first word of each sentence is
copied.
How can I get all the characters/sentences of each row copied into as many
rows in a table?

Thanks for reading,
wiersma7


Doug Robbins - Word MVP April 28th, 2010 11:19 PM

copying to multiple rows
 
No problem doing it here.

--
Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP, originally posted via msnews.microsoft.com

"wiersma7" wrote in message
...
Quite often I need to copy several rows of text to several rows of a
table. I copy the rows that I want to paste into the tables, highlight the
rows I want to copy to and click 'paste' or 'paste special/unformatted
text' or 'paste special/formatted text'. Only the first word of each
sentence is copied.
How can I get all the characters/sentences of each row copied into as many
rows in a table?

Thanks for reading,
wiersma7



wiersma7[_2_] April 28th, 2010 11:39 PM

copying to multiple rows
 
um...not very much. But, I'm having a problem doing it. Am I missing an
answer?




"Doug Robbins - Word MVP" wrote in message
...
No problem doing it here.

--
Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP, originally posted via msnews.microsoft.com

"wiersma7" wrote in message
...
Quite often I need to copy several rows of text to several rows of a
table. I copy the rows that I want to paste into the tables, highlight
the rows I want to copy to and click 'paste' or 'paste
special/unformatted text' or 'paste special/formatted text'. Only the
first word of each sentence is copied.
How can I get all the characters/sentences of each row copied into as
many rows in a table?

Thanks for reading,
wiersma7




Doug Robbins - Word MVP April 29th, 2010 03:10 AM

copying to multiple rows
 
All I can say is that if I select and copy several lines of text and then I
select a number of rows of a table, the following happens:

1. If there are no commas in the selected text, the selected text is
pasted in its entirety into every cell of the selected rows.

2. If there are commas in the selected text, the text following the comma
is inserted into the next cell of each row of the table. (Providing that
there are more columns than commas, each of the selected rows will contain
the full text, albeit spread over the cells in the row.

If I select several paragraphs of text and copy them and then select a
number of rows. each paragraph is pasted into a separate cell in each of the
selected rows, so that I end up with each row being identical, but with the
first paragraph in the cells in the first column, the second paragraph in
the cells in the second column and so on.

--
Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP, originally posted via msnews.microsoft.com

"wiersma7" wrote in message
...
um...not very much. But, I'm having a problem doing it. Am I missing an
answer?




"Doug Robbins - Word MVP" wrote in message
...
No problem doing it here.

--
Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP, originally posted via msnews.microsoft.com

"wiersma7" wrote in message
...
Quite often I need to copy several rows of text to several rows of a
table. I copy the rows that I want to paste into the tables, highlight
the rows I want to copy to and click 'paste' or 'paste
special/unformatted text' or 'paste special/formatted text'. Only the
first word of each sentence is copied.
How can I get all the characters/sentences of each row copied into as
many rows in a table?

Thanks for reading,
wiersma7




wiersma7[_2_] June 2nd, 2010 04:56 PM

copying to multiple rows
 
I know this has been a while - hope you still receive it.

I'm pasting 4 sentences into 4 rows - no commas - I get only the first word
of each sentence. What you have written (copied) below is exactly what I
KNOW it SHOULD do and it used to do it that way, but NOW it will only do the
first word of each sentence. I have tried dragging, pasting with/without
formatting, every different way I can think of...but I get only the first
word.

Should I reinstall Word 2007?

Thanks again,
wiersma7



"Doug Robbins - Word MVP" wrote in message
...
All I can say is that if I select and copy several lines of text and then
I select a number of rows of a table, the following happens:

1. If there are no commas in the selected text, the selected text is
pasted in its entirety into every cell of the selected rows.

2. If there are commas in the selected text, the text following the
comma is inserted into the next cell of each row of the table. (Providing
that there are more columns than commas, each of the selected rows will
contain the full text, albeit spread over the cells in the row.

If I select several paragraphs of text and copy them and then select a
number of rows. each paragraph is pasted into a separate cell in each of
the selected rows, so that I end up with each row being identical, but
with the first paragraph in the cells in the first column, the second
paragraph in the cells in the second column and so on.

--
Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP, originally posted via msnews.microsoft.com

"wiersma7" wrote in message
...
um...not very much. But, I'm having a problem doing it. Am I missing an
answer?




"Doug Robbins - Word MVP" wrote in message
...
No problem doing it here.

--
Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP, originally posted via msnews.microsoft.com

"wiersma7" wrote in message
...
Quite often I need to copy several rows of text to several rows of a
table. I copy the rows that I want to paste into the tables, highlight
the rows I want to copy to and click 'paste' or 'paste
special/unformatted text' or 'paste special/formatted text'. Only the
first word of each sentence is copied.
How can I get all the characters/sentences of each row copied into as
many rows in a table?

Thanks for reading,
wiersma7




Graham Mayor June 3rd, 2010 08:25 AM

copying to multiple rows
 
Can you post the four sentences, displayed exactly as they appear in the
material you are copying?

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org



"wiersma7" wrote in message
...
I know this has been a while - hope you still receive it.

I'm pasting 4 sentences into 4 rows - no commas - I get only the first
word of each sentence. What you have written (copied) below is exactly
what I KNOW it SHOULD do and it used to do it that way, but NOW it will
only do the first word of each sentence. I have tried dragging, pasting
with/without formatting, every different way I can think of...but I get
only the first word.

Should I reinstall Word 2007?

Thanks again,
wiersma7



"Doug Robbins - Word MVP" wrote in message
...
All I can say is that if I select and copy several lines of text and then
I select a number of rows of a table, the following happens:

1. If there are no commas in the selected text, the selected text is
pasted in its entirety into every cell of the selected rows.

2. If there are commas in the selected text, the text following the
comma is inserted into the next cell of each row of the table.
(Providing that there are more columns than commas, each of the selected
rows will contain the full text, albeit spread over the cells in the row.

If I select several paragraphs of text and copy them and then select a
number of rows. each paragraph is pasted into a separate cell in each of
the selected rows, so that I end up with each row being identical, but
with the first paragraph in the cells in the first column, the second
paragraph in the cells in the second column and so on.

--
Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP, originally posted via msnews.microsoft.com

"wiersma7" wrote in message
...
um...not very much. But, I'm having a problem doing it. Am I missing an
answer?




"Doug Robbins - Word MVP" wrote in message
...
No problem doing it here.

--
Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP, originally posted via msnews.microsoft.com

"wiersma7" wrote in message
...
Quite often I need to copy several rows of text to several rows of a
table. I copy the rows that I want to paste into the tables, highlight
the rows I want to copy to and click 'paste' or 'paste
special/unformatted text' or 'paste special/formatted text'. Only the
first word of each sentence is copied.
How can I get all the characters/sentences of each row copied into as
many rows in a table?

Thanks for reading,
wiersma7






neerajkore December 26th, 2010 11:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Graham Mayor (Post 3741392)
Can you post the four sentences, displayed exactly as they appear in the
material you are copying?

--

Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org



"wiersma7" wrote in message
...
I know this has been a while - hope you still receive it.

I'm pasting 4 sentences into 4 rows - no commas - I get only the first
word of each sentence. What you have written (copied) below is exactly
what I KNOW it SHOULD do and it used to do it that way, but NOW it will
only do the first word of each sentence. I have tried dragging, pasting
with/without formatting, every different way I can think of...but I get
only the first word.

Should I reinstall Word 2007?

Thanks again,
wiersma7



"Doug Robbins - Word MVP"
wrote in message
...
All I can say is that if I select and copy several lines of text and then
I select a number of rows of a table, the following happens:

1. If there are no commas in the selected text, the selected text is
pasted in its entirety into every cell of the selected rows.

2. If there are commas in the selected text, the text following the
comma is inserted into the next cell of each row of the table.
(Providing that there are more columns than commas, each of the selected
rows will contain the full text, albeit spread over the cells in the row.

If I select several paragraphs of text and copy them and then select a
number of rows. each paragraph is pasted into a separate cell in each of
the selected rows, so that I end up with each row being identical, but
with the first paragraph in the cells in the first column, the second
paragraph in the cells in the second column and so on.

--
Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP, originally posted via msnews.microsoft.com

"wiersma7"
wrote in message
...
um...not very much. But, I'm having a problem doing it. Am I missing an
answer?




"Doug Robbins - Word MVP"
wrote in message
...
No problem doing it here.

--
Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP, originally posted via msnews.microsoft.com

"wiersma7"
wrote in message
...
Quite often I need to copy several rows of text to several rows of a
table. I copy the rows that I want to paste into the tables, highlight
the rows I want to copy to and click 'paste' or 'paste
special/unformatted text' or 'paste special/formatted text'. Only the
first word of each sentence is copied.
How can I get all the characters/sentences of each row copied into as
many rows in a table?

Thanks for reading,
wiersma7




I understand the lack of standardization is the major problem...and I am sure there are even more variations than I provided in my examples. I started to do this manually...and may still need to do some depending on what can be designed in some code, but I am hoping there is a way to do some of this via code. The person who was managing this just had no concept of how hard he was making things for himself and the rest of us.

haritkore December 26th, 2010 02:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by neerajkore (Post 3745840)
I understand the lack of standardization is the major problem...and I am sure there are even more variations than I provided in my examples. I started to do this manually...and may still need to do some depending on what can be designed in some code, but I am hoping there is a way to do some of this via code. The person who was managing this just had no concept of how hard he was making things for himself and the rest of us.

I have always found it much easier to just select the number of rows or columns I want to insert by highlighting them, clicking the right mouse button and selecting Insert. Thatís much easier than having to change a macro each time. You can also chose Insert from the menu if you donít want to use the right mouse button.

rekhasein December 27th, 2010 04:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by haritkore (Post 3745842)
I have always found it much easier to just select the number of rows or columns I want to insert by highlighting them, clicking the right mouse button and selecting Insert. Thatís much easier than having to change a macro each time. You can also chose Insert from the menu if you donít want to use the right mouse button.

The worksheets where the data is copied to also contain other information from other sources, and in summary needs to vary in length to represent the amount of rows that have been entered in the "datainput" worksheet.

educationnest March 23rd, 2011 08:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rekhasein (Post 3745849)
The worksheets where the data is copied to also contain other information from other sources, and in summary needs to vary in length to represent the amount of rows that have been entered in the "datainput" worksheet.

When I copy and paste into excel, the result gives me multiple lines. I want a single line, with the exact multiple text in a single cell. How can I do this?? Nobody in the world seems to know.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
OfficeFrustration.com